Chinese Futuristic Library. Books vs E-Books. Fight!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #architecture6 years ago (edited)

First time when I saw a unique architecture of Tianjin Binhai Library, it seemed a lot like I’m somewhere in a fiction-movie about future. Dutch designers who created this amazing project, starting just from a sketch on a piece of paper, have done everything to make this library look not just like a place for reading but something that really inspires. Floor-to-ceiling bookshelves make an illusion of infinity and a large, luminous sphere in the center, which actually is an auditorium, emphasizes the futuristic style.

But wait a second… aren’t normal books kind of old-fashioned these days? Well, yes unless you read them in the high-tech, futuristic library. I think that one of the most important points of this project is to show people that even in a modern, rapidly-developing world, where a habit of getting new information through the videos on Youtube is dominating, reading books is still vitally important for our society. The way they designed the library, is a great chance to attract the attention of those whose last finished book was at school.

There are some people, who would say that because nowadays we can read e-books, this project is just unreasonable waste of resources and money. Maybe in terms of protecting the environment, I would agree, but meanwhile, I think that educating and encouraging people to read more is essential and not less important. Because who knows, maybe some of those readers will be the one who will save our planet:)

Anyway, here are a couple of pictures that I have taken:

988.pic.jpg

6.pic.jpg

399.pic.jpg

7.pic.jpg

What do you prefer to read, e-books or normal books? Let me know in the comments.

Thank you for reading, and if it was interesting - subsribe!

Sort:  

Great post about fascinating architecture which serves a good cause! What might be inside the big bowl?
I love libraries and I am always amazed by the fine ideas of modern architects who create inspiring reading spaces. But there are libraries in old buildings as well, like in my town:
https://steemit.com/esperanto/@johano/viglanta-vivo-en-malnovaj-muroj.
I love books and e-books. Both have their special features.

There is an auditorium for 110 people inside of the big sphere.
Yes, I also like libraries with some old spirit. Definitely going to check out your post. Thanks.


That is one impressive library @maxanthony, nice pictures!
I prefer normal books, but because of lifestyle related reasons I read mainly e-books/on screen...

Wow! Looks amazing!! Would love something like that here in Philadelphia! One question...how do you get the books at the very top lol!!?? @maxanthony

Haha the very top shelves are just decorated to look like there were some real books:)
I think there must be some other not less interesting places in Philadelphia!
Thanks for coming by my post!

Upvoted on behalf of @thehumanbot and it's allies. Write less but write great original content, and do not use bid bots for at least 1-2 days, for your post to be recommended to other curators. If you are using any image or video, cite proper source. Even if its your own image or video, it's worth mention the same. Also be careful to avoid duplicate posting.
Great Original Works are rewarded by top Curators, refer posts from my Step-Brother @humanbot for more details.If you like this initiative, you can follow me in SteemAuto and upvote the posts, that I upvote.
And remember to do some charity when you are rich by contributing to me. Check out my Introduction Post for more details. If you have any concerns or feedback with my way of operation, raise it with @sanmi , my operator who is freaking in Steemit chat or discord most of the time.

Congratulations @maxanthony! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61763.08
ETH 2899.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.49