Trying To Save The Ocotillo Plant

in #arizona6 years ago

image
I’m trying to prop this Ocotillo plant back up. It started leaning real bad after a storm and was touching the facia board on the house.
image
The ground is real sandy and soft so it is hard to really apply a ton of pressure to it.
image
The plan was to prop it up with the board as much as possible and then keep walking it up by tightening each rope.
image
I cut everything off that was touching the house or going to smack the house if it fell the rest of the way.
image
That reduced the weight at the top some as well. It didn’t really budge much but the house isn’t baring any of it’s weight.
image
These are tough to work with because they have aggressive spikes!

Hopefully in the end I can save it but Im not so sure. That and a Suguaro cactus are the two main land scaping elements in the yard so I want to save it.

Sort:  

Hello, I am the Ocotillo Plant Fact Bot...

Did you know the the name in Spanish means "little torch" and that they are a humming birds favorite plant?

haha just kidding. Cool plant though.

I learned something from your manual bot. LOL That is pretty hilarious

Oh!...Hey, Brian, that looks pretty good actually, as long as you can keep it from sliding back with the current pressure you've got on it. I think it will eventually take over that "uprightness" as it's "new normal" pretty quick. Good job!

I hope it can correct itself. It feels like it weighs 600 lb.

That's not a whole lot for a big bush though....

Yeah it probably weighs 600 pounds. Hopefully it will fix it.

Wow...
Really hope it does

I used to have a few of these in my yard when I lived in Palm Desert

I really like them as a plant and thought about getting a couple more of them. I'm worried I will have to cut this one down and just plant a couple new ones or something.

Congratulations, your post had been chosen by curators of eSteem Encouragement program. Feel free to join and reach us via Discord channel if you have any questions or would like to contribute.


eSteem Line
Thank you for using eSteem

Thank you! Are the eSteem upvotes manual now?

Our team is working for it, man. :D
Looking forward to see more from you, man! Keep it up! :D
Wrong replied post lately. Sorry :D

Our team is working for it, man. :D
Looking forward to see more from you, man! Keep it up! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64344.02
ETH 3142.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01