Doodling, rants, ramblings, and working on patience~

in #art6 years ago



How do folks?

Above you can see my warmup practice page from today. I thought I'd start by tryin' to master the elegant curve some more (as always) and here you can see the product of that.

I also want to note that for the most part I tend to draw very small. hence the zoom there so you can see the curves I started with. They can be a bit fuzzy zoomed out. The fuzziness from my camera is one of the reasons I started smoothing the lines digitally. I know some folks out there hate on anything digital, but haters gonna hate. And, fuzzy jaggity lines isn't really the product I'm looking for and you can actually see the happy accidents (if Bob Ross taught me anything it's that there are no mistakes in art) I make even easier doing what I do so...yeah, it's whatever. Imma keep doin' what I like.

I wasn't trying to arrange them in any particular fashion. I was just filling the space with random curves to see if I'd get any sort of emergent design...kinda looks like a cow...

I also wanted for today to work on my patience. So that was my theme...patience; just trying to slow down take my time and focus on my form. Form before detail they say...somebody said.

I feel working with a theme (which I don't always) helps give me direction.


This guy was sort of a quick margin sketch based on a classic tattoo design. A skull in lotus. I gave him glasses so lets call it a self portrait.


So I liked the lotus. I thought it fit with my theme quite nicely. So here I focused on the form of a lotus. nothin' fancy, just took it slow and steady. Plus it's nice and curvy which I like.

I used thick lines and tried to be bold so the basic shapes would really pop...I like it. I hope you do too.


Lastly I drew this raptor. Just simple and nice line work.

That's really all for today. Nothing over the top, focusing on basics, boiling things down to simple elements. Not gonna pretend I'm one of those Rembrandt all the time people. Again, practice makes perfect...eventually...maybe...we'll find out :P

In addition; About the stuff I use. The drawings I do are mostly done on 22.9 x 30.5 cm (9 x 12 in) recycled white paper with a fine tooth surface. I draw mostly with 4H, HB, and B pencils. I also use colored pencils and a fine point pen. Just so y'all know what I'm working with behind the editing. Yes I actually do use pens and paper...

I hope y'all enjoyed my doodling and my rambling for today and that you also enjoy taking part in my artistic adventure. Take it easy and later on.

AB

<<< previous |

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63822.89
ETH 3083.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99