The Islands of Aloha | Digital Painting by AJ Brockman

in #art6 years ago

Thumbnails__hawaii_large.jpg

I have always considered myself an old soul. Some of my most early artistic inspiration came from vintage travel posters and postcards. More specifically the work of Kerne Erickson. In my eyes, this art style truly captures what commercial design was intended to do. It truly invokes the feeling of "I want to be there" by combining stunning visuals with the psychological aspect of world travel… Something we all desire as humans.

I have an entire travel poster series I have been sharing (first post here : https://steemit.com/art/@abrockman/the-sunshine-state-or-digital-painting-by-aj-brockman). This is the second installment, The Islands of Aloha, featuring imagery from Hawaii. Hawaii is the 50th and most recent state to have joined the United States of America, having received statehood on August 21, 1959. Hawaii is the only U.S. state located in Oceania and the only one composed entirely of islands. It is the northernmost island group in Polynesia, occupying most of an archipelago in the central Pacific Ocean. Hawaii is the only U.S. state located outside North America. The state encompasses nearly the entire volcanic Hawaiian archipelago, which comprises hundreds of islands spread over 1,500 miles (2,400 km). At the southeastern end of the archipelago, the eight main islands are—in order from northwest to southeast: Niʻihau, Kauaʻi, Oʻahu, Molokaʻi, Lānaʻi, Kahoʻolawe, Maui, and the Island of Hawaiʻi. The last is the largest island in the group; it is often called the "Big Island" or "Hawaiʻi Island" to avoid confusion with the state or archipelago. The archipelago is physiographically and ethnologically part of the Polynesian subregion of Oceania.

Thumbnails__hawaii_mock.jpg

Thumbnails__hawaii_detail.jpg

Thank you for reading and please consider upvoting this post, following me, and leaving a comment. If you're looking to go the extra mile in helping me on my journey, also please consider a re–steem so I am able to reach your audience. The steemit community means the world to me and I look forward to posting daily content with all of you.

As my account grows, it is becoming more difficult to reply to every comment. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and I will do my best to respond. I can guarantee I at least read every comment given. I am dedicated to spending a full-time effort on this platform. Everything posted on my profile (@abrockman) is 100% original content and exclusively shared on steemit. Any reproduction of my work without written consent is strictly prohibited. Please remember the best way to grow our community is by producing outstanding original content of your own to share with all of us.

Also, check out our brand-new initiative – Steemfest 2.5! More info here : https://steemit.com/dlive/@jerrybanfield/3a2b4d4c-1bd0-11e8-8e74-0242ac110002

Sort:  

That's a beautiful art! And I love Hawaii! Was just there a couple of days ago adventuring!

This comment has received a 0.20 % upvote from @speedvoter thanks to: @tomy12.

Great piece of art! Very beautiful!

posting a very-very nice friends, hope you are successful and healthy always.

Thank you my friend!

I love how retro this looks! Awesome vibes. Someday I'll visit Hawaii. Psyched about Steemfest 2.5! Cheers, my friend @abrockman :)

Thanks brother… Yes, me too, one day I will see it for myself. We had a name change to the event, but still hope you can make it to finally meet in person!

Nice work! I think I might of dated her once ;)

LOL… She is a catch! Thanks for your continued feedback and support. Love what you're doing with the community offering the free designs to promote this platform. All the best my friend.

That's a beautiful art! And I love Hawaii! Was just there a couple of days ago adventuring!

Wow, I am mad jealous brother! Maybe one day we can adventure there together.

the woman in the painting looks like an Asian national,the painting looks so smooth and nice, but a little less beautiful in my opinion is a plane image that feels like an impression of war, such as paintings that tell the beauty of the island of Hawaii is disturbed by war, that's all my comments thank you

What a great comment, this is exactly what I was going for… A true Juxtaposition, Beauty by a history of war. However, the Asian influence was meant to be more Polynesian (the native ancestry of Hawaii). This is very insightful of you and I appreciate you adding to the conversation. Hope to chat more!

thanks for the geography lesson , i had to look for a map to understand what you are saying and so much interested in visiting the island based on what am seeing on the internet, and the photo looks great

Yes, it is a place I hope to visit one day!

Am in love with your post. @abrockman your post have received 0.03%. Thank you

Thank you very much, appreciate your support!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64344.02
ETH 3142.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01