Paintings #18 - Recent paintings (and my digital art process explained)

in #art5 years ago

In this quick post, I'm just going to highlight a few of my most recent paintings. These were all private commissions received before Christmas and I'm assuming they were all intended as gifts. For me, it's enjoyable to work on these, particularly because of the reactions I get from my customers when they see the final artwork - it's always so rewarding!

Emma comm smSTEEM.jpg

The Process
I work as a digital artist when I'm creating pet portraits. This means I paint on a computer. This is still a new concept for many of my customers, who are expecting a painting on canvas or paper and executed with oils or acrylics.

Although I enjoy working with actual real paints and love the feel of paint of canvas or paper, I work digitally on these commissions for two main reasons:

  1. Space: My art studio is tiny. I simply don't have enough space for prepping multiple canvases or paper, or for having a series of canvases drying while I work. At least, not at this busy time of year - I'd need to be working through a number of commissions at the same time (working on one layer of one painting, while other paintings are drying).

  2. Speed: On computer, I don't have to worry about waiting a week between coats (if I'm painting in oils for example), having my paints dry out on me if I'm called away, cleaning brushes, prepping paper or canvas with undercoats etc. This is important at this time of year - it means I can keep the work flow going and produce a portrait in a day or two instead of a month or two.

The advantage for my customers is that I can keep my costs down too (less time on the painting, no need to buy canvas, paints, or brushes etc) - so I can charge a little less for a digital portrait (compared to one I've painted in oils, for example)...Although this isn't always an advantage if you're trying to make a living doing this - it means I have to work harder to find more customers.

Rhys1 smSTEEM.jpg

...But isn't it cheating?
It's a common misconception I get from a lot of people who aren't familiar with digital art. Some assume that you scan in a photo, press a few buttons, and the graphics package does the rest...

Well, you CAN do it that way, but the results are often rather dull. To produce good art on computer, you still need to have the right skills. Essentially, if you can't draw or paint well on paper or canvas, then you can't do it well on computer either. I still need to understand colour theory, texture, composition, proportions, anatomy, light etc. etc.

Digital painting is easier in some respects (correcting mistakes, for example, instead of having to scratch them out or paint over them), but you still need a good collection of skills and techniques to do it well.

Anni comm smSTEEM.jpg

What's so special about a Jpeg?
Once the painting is complete, it's saved as a .jpeg file. In theory I could mass-print this a multitude of times - not so great if you are wanting something special and unique, right?

When my customers pay for a commission, they don't get a jpeg file sent to them. Once they are happy with my painting, I have it sent to a fine art printer, who produces a single giclee print of the work. I check the print, and once I'm happy with the quality, I sign it and number it 1/1 (meaning it is the first print of a print run of one - in other words a unique print).

The print is produced with archival quality inks and best-in-class paper and comes with a certificate of authenticity (again, signed by me) and stamped with the Fine Art Trade Guild's stamp of approval - meaning that the print meets their high standard.

!IMG_0852.JPG
An older print before it was sent to their happy customers (early in 2018)

So, that's the process in a nutshell. If you're interested in a pet portrait then my instagram link is at the top of my blog page (you can see further examples of a range of my artwork there), or follow this link for more information about my pet portraits specifically.

I work from photographs - they need to me good quality (so not blurry). This helps me see enough detail of your pet in order to paint a realistic likeness of them. Prices are in the link above.

Jordan comm smSTEEM.jpg

That's all for now - Hope you've all enjoyed the post!

Cheers
Adam

Sort:  

Never thought that digital art also has a standart on produce the printinh one @adamfryda.. that's a new information for me. Thanks for sharing and yeap.. your digital painting almost looked like a photograph but far more awesome 😉

thanks cicisaja, the standard i mention is for all printed fine art in the UK - not just digital. It just means the buyer knows they are getting excellent quality prints. Hope that makes sense :)

It does make sense 😉 I just have no idea about it until I read your post😊 thank you for taking your time to answer my curiousity

Really love those paintings, they are so cute and you explained the behind story so well :)

Thanks rifkan, glad you like them :) Thanks for commenting!

So lovely and sweet. You are really talented. They look like real dogs. Amazing.

Thanks Anasav, thanks for the lovely comment and upvote - much appreciated :)

Hi adamfryda-art,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Wow, thank you so much! Glad you like the post :)

I did enjoy it, especially the technical comments. I had been thinking about it all these days. I have been commenting on a lot of art post, many of which use digital tools, and it is always good to have the description of the process, but also the discussion on the skills required to achieve what may look as easy peasy.

If I could afford it, I would definitely pay for any of your works. I would comission works on any of my pets in a heart beat. It looks fantastic and with all the details you've provided we have a better sense of what it takes to produce these prints.
Great work

Thank you hlezama, very kind words my friend - greatly appreciated :)

I do love these paintings! Those pets are so adorable, like all of them I am finding a hard time choosing a favorite. Lol.

It will be so easy to convince one that this is a digital painting, if you didn't tell me, then I wouldn't have thought so. Your painting still has that "hand painting" effect, it looks more natural, quite different from most digital paintings I have seen.

Having that skill and knowing the technique definitely is an important part of it all. You are a great artist!

Thank you audreybits, your comments are greatly appreciated - the hand-painted effect is intentional. I often feel that other digital art is a bit too polished, which is fine but, for me, it loses some of the character and atmosphere created by brushstrokes. I like my art to look 'created' and not too polished. Glad you like them so much, thanks for your support :)

I have always thought that digital art has to look that polished, really. It's incredible that it can be made with that hand painting effect to it. This definitely is a cool technique, I do feel like the hand-painted effect will make it easier for people to embrace the digital painting.

Posted using Partiko Android

Wow, I simply love your work. They look so pretty, so realistic, I am sure your customers feel very happy with the results! Congratulations!

Thank you so much. The most rewarding part of doing these paintings is the reaction of the customers when they see the work - it's definitely worth all the effort.

Hello @adamfryda-art, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Thanks creativecrypto, that's awesome!

what beautiful pieces. you're very talented. They are very realistic. My favorite is definitely the doggie. thanks for sharing

Thanks wisejg, glad you like them :)

Beautiful artworks. I love the style you use, it's so cute and charming. Fantastic job!

Oh, and congratulations on being picked up by @curie! That was well deserved. 😃

Thanks for your kind comments, much appreciated my friend :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61219.98
ETH 2927.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66