I just crowdfunded a study on LSD microdosing!

in #art7 years ago

Wow, I love the fact that through crowdfunding, scientific studies that may never get funded by traditional means can now be done, like this one on the effects of microdosing LSD! I just donated to this campaign :) Have you ever tried microdosing?

If you do some quick research you'll find that some pretty well known people have used LSD and credited it with being an inspiration. Indeed my own art is partly inspired by experiences I had with LSD many years ago. Lately a lot of people have been talking about microdosing LSD and it's anecdotal health benefits - more energy, more focus, better mood, even curing depression. This study will attempt to examine those claims. Check it out here - http://beckleyfoundation.org/microdosing-lsd/

This is one piece in particular that was inspired by thinking of the times I used LSD. I often used to "see" music as bright colorful patterns. For this one I was imagining how a bass drum booming and a guitar solo might look under the influence of LSD. I named it "Optic Boom". The original painting sold, but some 10 x 10 inch prints are still available here if you'd like to add one to your art collection - https://www.nexusvisions.com/product-page/optic-boom

FullSizeRender (8).jpg

Sort:  

Wow this is awesome!! great art

Thank you! I feel lucky to have found the courage to go after my dreams and make art my full time career! It's all about giving back a little, I hope to see more studies like this one!

Nice artwork,super clean looking!!!

Microdosing is really great , I did it years ago to help me with focus,reading and memory. I felt at the time that my brain was a sponge absorbing all the information I could take in.

I really can't imagine the change in society when the day comes where psychedelics will be legalized.

Glad you dig my work! It's my passion and my full time career. :) I'm excited to read so many stories from people who are microdosing lately, it'll be cool to finally have some real scientific evidence to back up all the stories.

Yeah man, your artwork is just visually calming to the eyes. I think its due to how tight and clean everything is. I know a lot of mandalas are like that but maybe its cause yours is a nice balance between minimal and complicated.

Years ago I would catch so much shit for microdosing too!! It was like I was being disrespectful to LSD and I was getting a few negative comments on what I was doing. But there seems to be a bit less gatekeeping around the psychedelic community.

All I know is that I really want to be around for the legalization of it all. With the technology we have now I'd love to see how quickly and how dramatic the entire thought process, emotions, empathy, government changes and so on will start to change.

I just see the contrast between a psychedelic event like COSM vs the absolute disrespectful and violent scene at the bars.. I'd love to find more calming and non-drama fun places to go to. Hopefully one day that will come.

My long term goal is to create one of those places, a ToSM - Temple of Sacred Mandalas lol I told Alex and Allyson and they laughed and said it was a good idea. I had a vision of lots of little art sanctuaries popping up similar to CoSM where there's a safe place for "people like us" and our crazy ideas of love & peace and taking care of the environment etc... Sorry if I take a while to reply etc.. still getting the hang of this platform lol

Hey ya never know what you can do! You should see if theres a little niche group of people to help support it at first and then keep on building it. If psychedelics were ever to reach mainstream status again I could see things like this happening all over the place.

I know for me and a few other people that if psychedelics were legalized, the last place any of us would want to enjoy the day/night at would be at bars/clubs.

Art filled galleries are like candy for your eyes, the people you interact with, etc.. it would be awesome for you to do something like that one day.

SLow and steady as the saying goes! I do have my own gallery/showroom but I need a bigger place to have events like at CoSM. I've only been doing art full time for a bit less than 3 years, it'll happen one day!

Yeah good to stay upbeat like that, but don't take it too slow lol

Wish I had local people like you around the area to help team up with. I'd love to be around a lot more creatives that in the psychedelic scene.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61699.33
ETH 2887.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.47