You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Perpectives: Exploring the Foundations and Reality of Support for Artists and Creatives

in #art6 years ago

Well said! I've personally seen one artist who's very well known and makes a very good living from his work tell people who gush compliments to him "Oh great, then you'll be happy to know I have prints with me for sale" and then when they come with the excuses he says something like "Oh so you don't REALLY like my art that much, if you'd rather spend your money on drugs or whatever, that's cool, thanks for saying hi~!"

Sort:  

Wow... yeah, that's certainly a viable approach.

The ones that sometimes get to me are people who come into our gallery and stand around "considering" a $100 piece of art; just not sure they can "justify" buying it. So they go across the street to "think about it" over a $100 dinner. WTF?

He does a lot of live painting at music festivals, so people who are intoxicated often approach him at those types of events, hence the drugs thing lol That would be annoying, everyone likes good food, but art collectors are pretty rare I've found. Most people will gladly fill their house with IKEA art before investing in real art. Thankfully there's still some people who appreciate the arts and what artists do. And at the other end, I suppose if IKEA approached me to license my designs for royalties, I'd probably do that lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57791.14
ETH 2962.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67