PORTRAIT SKETCHES

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Here's this sketch I made of my little cousin a while back. I used only pencils in making this sketch.

20180220_131002.jpg

I started by making sure my model (the little girl) was comfortable. She sat in front of the television while I positioned myself at an angle from her. Since her eyes were fixed on the screen in front of her, she didn't really pay much attention to me or to what I was doing. Sitting and observing the little details, I noticed how soft and innocent she looked, giving all her attention to what she was watching. I tried my best to represent all that softness and innocence in sketch. The few times she got distracted and changed her position, I had to merge the old position with the new so it wouldn't end up unreal.

I usually prefer shading as I go so it took me a while before I completed the sketch. I used two different shades of pencils. The HB pencil for shading and the 3B pencil for shading. I used the hatching technique of shading and made random scribbles mainly for the hair.

This is my first complete sketch of a little child. Hopefully, with practice, I'd perfect my potraits with children.

Sort:  

Nice! Thanks for sharing. Sketching kids can be tricky if it's hard for them to sit still for a long time... Drawing portraits is challenging for me. I'm better with painting nature. Following you because I appreciate your art :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63133.02
ETH 3043.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63