Character Design : Mambabarang (Philippines)

in #art6 years ago

Wow, I was absent again for a few days. tsk tsk I am currently working on my portfolio hehehe. Can't wait to share the progress here on Steem platform. I might share the progress here first before posting it on my portfolio site.

I am thinking of doing art boot camp here as well (but would that be stressful?) hahah

Anyway, I painted this piece between client works to add on my portfolio.

avblx1ogor.jpg

Mambabarang

Mambabarang or what we call it summoner is a witch who uses insects and spirit to enter a victims body (someone they hate) and later kill them with those insects.

In the Philippines, mambabarang is well known and so much stories are travelling around the country regarding their experiences.

If you are interested to know more about it, you can read it here. I also painted the illustration for them but it was made a year ago and this piece I posted is a new version of the said creature.

Process:

  • (1) Sketch
    Well since it's just personal work, I did not spend so much time on the sketch. I already have a vision as to what I wanted it look like so spending so much time would just be a waste hihihi

k7om4s0la8.jpg

  • (2) Plot the base colors and initial light flow, which should have highlight, which shouldn't. Just a very draft blocking.

fak44uwmqy.jpg

  • (3) Giving a clear form to the character.

302j4lbemx.jpg

  • (4) Adding a good art direction on the lights. Artificial light (fire) from the ground and moonlight on the upper left

24ujjai4gl.jpg

  • (5) Polish further, I mean ultra further hahahha and yey it's done!

ysb2qprjsl.jpg

Here's a GIF version of the process:

zdi9sc6pq6.gif
All Artworks Copyright @adelair - All Rights Reserved

That's it for now guys! I'll see you next time!

Adelair

Sort:  

Wow, this is so amazing. Love the composition and the process, so wonderful.

Thaaaank you so much @donnadavisart ❤️ I'm glad thw design worked out 😁

Posted using Partiko Android

That looks awesome. Great post and phenomenal artwork. Thanks a lot for sharing your talent with us. 😊

Sure, it's my pleasure! Thank you so much for appreciating my works ♥️

Posted using Partiko Android

another awesome design! the little scorpion on her hand seem so damn cool! :P

Yeeeey! Thank you so much @filotasriza3 ♥️ hahahaha that little sidekicks 😂

Posted using Partiko Android

Very cool - the lighting is great and it's so fun to see the render process as a gif like that!

Woah! I'm truly glad you like it @derosnec 😁

Posted using Partiko Android

Happy halloowen! Nice art

Happy Halloweeeeeeen! Thank you so much @chibas.arkanghil

Posted using Partiko Android

Much welcome maam. Greatly appreciated your reply.

She's definitely rocking that menacing old lady from the forest look.
                       
Nice posture and colour expression, Adelair :).

Thank youuuu @scrawly 😘 hahaha yas! Glad i nailed the grandma look lolz

Posted using Partiko Android

Omgggg super cool adelair ^~^ I love the tale and how it turned out this is my favourite character design from you

Thank you so much for visiting the tale!
I'm glad you love the design @maya525 😘

Posted using Partiko Android

Amazing to see the process in the GIF file 👌👍

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you so much @zpzn for droppin by 😁

Posted using Partiko Android

Really nice design <3 Love her staff and the voodoo things on it so much ! The lighting looks really great too, and gives her a great ambience <3 Wonderful work, @adelair :)

Thank you @veryspider 😘 I am so happy that you love the design and lighting XD

Posted using Partiko Android

I loved. The staff is great

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64038.60
ETH 3148.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97