Commission Work : The Night is Watching

in #art6 years ago

s70kw948is.jpg

This is a commission I did last year. I was asked to create an illustration of my client's character from the game she's playing :)

Personality:

  • She has a kind heart that truly wants to do good, but her methods are frowned upon, dangerous, and illegal.
  • A Robin Hood sort of character. She gets in trouble with the law, but she uses her “evil” actions to protect the poor and the weak.
  • Since it seems you’ve seen Scarlet Heart Ryeo, consider Wang So. My character and Wang So have very, very similar personalities. She is very intense. People fear her. She’s dangerous and always seems unfriendly, but she has a sincere desire to do good despite her willingness to attack people and use extreme measures. She thinks other people aren’t up to her standards, and she will be very harsh and rude to them. To her friends, she has a cold personality but would protect and make sacrifices for them.
  • She stays in the shadows and crawls along rooftops to find a position to shoot her targets and run before getting caught.

PROCESS

  • (1) Sketch
    Sketch stage is a draft guidelines for your painting. From personal experience, I can say don't judge a painting by it's sketch because I've experience that sometime my sketch looks better then the final result and sometimes my sketch looks crap than the final painting. hahahahaha

ukhz5ha6by.jpg

  • (2) I trace my sketch to create a silhouette of the character, I did it to use for my clipping mask when adding further details

jogvsv9zel.jpg

  • (3) I started building up the values, but decided to focus on the face part, so the other parts were super draft

ae0q4n17om.jpg

ksxyiopetx.jpg

  • (5) And then I added colors with soft light layer. I also painted the background simultaneously, but was not able to save a step bu step for the bg layers

mhv1j0mn4s.jpg

  • (6) I then moved to the painting the weapon

nb33qjy7d8.jpg

  • (7) And paint the rest of the character's details. I added backlighting and adjust some parts

o32kwxds5u.jpg

  • (8) Finally, polishing the painting

gboaiajzfk.jpg
All Artworks are Copyright @adelair - All Rights Reserved

If you are interested for a commission work, feel free to email me at [email protected]

That's it for today gyus!

See you again next time!

Adelair

Sort:  

That's a beautiful work! Which game was the character from?

Thank you @trincowski
She didn't mention the game title, but she just sent me a few screenshots of the game for me to have a reference to visualize and translate it to a scene she wanted me to paint :)

Maybe it's still in production?


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Wooow, I love this style!
Amazing style ! Love the process ❤😊❤ This is wonderful work!

Really grateful of you compliments @ykdesign
This is one of my fave illustrations XD

Really nicely done @adelair! :)

Thank you so much @midlet
It's an honor for me. I really appreciate you dropin'by.

Nicely done Adelair, I like the perspective of the woman and the gun that she's carrying. She certainly looks like she means serious business :).          
                   
-upvoted-          
                   

Thanks @scrawly <3 it was a challenge for me to direct the pic this way, but I'm glad it turn out well XD

Your artwork is awesome. I love your style. Great job!

Thank you so much @apolymask <3 I'm glad you love it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60200.47
ETH 3004.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63