How I draw portraits

in #art6 years ago (edited)

thumbnail.jpg

I will be showing you one of my ways on how I draw portraits. This is applicable both in digital and traditional.

Let’s start! I’ll be drawing Joon Jung Young, South Korean singer and actor.

  • First, Sketch out the bigger shape. My technique is, I squint my eyes so I can see only the essential silhouette of the subject I’ll be drawing.

IMG_0176.jpg

  • Plot the basic shapes of the parts within the bigger shape. Ex. eyes, nose, ears, basic shape of the collar etc.,

IMG_0177.jpg

  • Add essential details to those shapes. This process is breaking down parts by parts and each time you move to the next step, you keep adding details to it.

IMG_0178.jpg

  • Just keep adding details until it’s ready to be finalized :)

IMG_0181.jpg

Copyright @adelair - All Rights Reserved

If one example won’t suffice, here’s another one :D Kento Yamazaki

IMG_0168.jpg

IMG_0169.jpg

IMG_0170.jpg

IMG_0171.jpg

I hope this quick tutorial helped you guys, I’m sorry if this is somewhat advance and does not tackle much on fundamentals but I’ll create more deep and detailed tutorials in the future :)

I also created a video tutorial for digital portrait which I'll be posting soon :)

Aaaaand here is a selfie of me and my babies

IMG_20180711_135703.jpg

By the way, I'm still new here in Steemit, and if you have questions please don't hesitate to ask, I'll do my best to answer them and share what I know!

See you again next time! :D

Adelair

Sort:  

I love this, @adelair <3 your lineart is so graceful and your boys are so... so good looking * ___ *............... <3

the step by step is also very nicely done <3 gorgeous post !!!

Wow! Thank you so much @veryspider :D I'm glad you loved it <3

hahahah
I am really fond of creating portraits of my idols since I love watching kdrama, jdrama, and cdrama haha it makes my heart goes dokidoki <3 hihihihi *faints

Very nice sketches, Adelair. I don't know these guys, but they are certainly good looking judging from your drawing :D.
Good job!

-upvoted-

Thank you very much @scrawly :D
They're actors from South Korea and Japan, hihihi and yuuup, they're gorgeous humans. hihihihi
I'm glad I was able to keep the step by step of this work!

Congratulations @adelair! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - Semi Finals - Day 1


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

a pretty good draw and nice explained step by step, always going from the basics to the most detailed parts ^^
great work

Thanks @edanya :D
I have so many ways but this is the most convenient (in my opinion).
I hope it helped you and other artists :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66384.36
ETH 3272.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27