Color Mixing Bible - Did I Just Get Religious?

in #art6 years ago

No, I am just kidding... :D ... A few days ago I had written a post about getting to learn more mediums and techniques through the use of books. The second book "Color Mixing Bible by Ian Sidaway" which I had ordered finally arrived today and I am so thrilled to have it because if I were to be honest, I really struggle in achieving some specific tints and tones while painting sometimes. And this one seems like a good way of adding to my knowledge.

The first thing what I LOVED about this book ( also one of the reasons why I ordered it) is that it has some lovely illustrations and the composition was very pleasant for me. Kind of reminded me of those art books you get when you a kid hehe. It starts with a very basic introduction about how to choose your color palette, mediums, and also how to use the book itself.

IMG_3682.JPG

IMG_3683.JPG

It majorly focuses on mixing of 7 different mediums as you can see below. Each medium has a lot of pages dedicated on how to mix colors with a specific set of colors which has been repeated in almost all mediums, more or less. As you can it shows 3 results in 1 combination depending on the proportion of adding a palette color.

colla.jpg

ACRYLICS

IMG_3688.JPG

WATERCOLOR

IMG_3692.jpg

GOUACHE

IMG_3693.JPG

SOFT PASTELS

IMG_3695.JPG

IMG_3694.JPG

PENCIL & INK

IMG_3697.JPG

IMG_3699.JPG

Doesn't this look absolutely gorgeous? I must say I love the layers in this one. Being able to play with lights and shadows is one of my favourite things to do and this section of the book brought a BIG smile on my face for sure :D It explains the color palette for the associated illustration as well! That's something which a yes-yes for me.

IMG_3701.JPG

color pal.jpg

IMG_3706.JPG


Meanwhile, I also made some addition/modification to my art supplies last week. Got some brushes and watercolor paper HP, illustration on which are on the blog right now. I am loving the experience of the paper so far and am yet to use all the brushes.

 vngv.jpg

jhbhj.jpg

I wrecked some of my smallest brushes by dipping them in oil paint and masking fluid. (clumsy me!) BTW, I am also crying on the inside as I share this picture. :D Hope you enjoyed the tour! Cheers :)

IMG_3479.JPG


Keep Creating

Lots Of Love <3

Sort:  

Book seems interesting! <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70999.72
ETH 3678.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81