Imprints From The Past

in #art5 years ago (edited)

While searching for something completely different, I saw a file neatly tied up with rope and felt an impulse to open it because I knew I had some special greeting cards and letters saved up from so many years. But, I was delighted to see some of my most adored sketches along with them and how perfect could it be that they are all from the anime show Card captor Sakura! I just shared a painting of a scene from the same show 2 days ago and I started making some funny comparisons with my old sketches thinking how I have progressed over the years.

I have uploaded the ones which made the most sense to me and there are still many pages left out because they were just too messy and jumbled up to be here. My fascination with this show began from an early age and just a few days ago I was talking to a friend about how we used to name each other the characters' names to sound cool :D (Yes, I have done such things as a kid) But no matter how many more I make, these will always be gold to me and I will always keep them safe as I have till now <3

1.jpg

2.jpg

I have destroyed countless notebooks during my school and it always began with "only 1 sketch" at the last page. And next thing within a week I would know I was going to get in a lot of trouble. I did get my butt kicked once for sketching nearly 10 pages and I couldn’t understand what was so wrong with it. Nevertheless, drawing anime characters was one of my favourite things to do in lectures, especially in high school... to enter in a world of my own :)

3.jpg

4.jpg

5.1.jpeg

This is a newspaper clipping that I have kept and I remember freaking out when I saw this because it was definitely not normal to see an anime character just popping up in a newspaper. It is a little fragile and I can feel trace marks over it even now but it is so worth saving and makes me happy when I look at it. haha.

2.1.jpeg

5.jpeg

6.jpeg

7.jpeg

8.1.jpg

8.jpeg

9.jpg


Why did I start sketching? These 2 drawings are the reason why it began for me. I remember visiting my uncle in India when I was a 4th/5th grader and my cousin showed my some of her drawings, (probably to calm my noisy ass down) and I was blown away by them. I don't know why or what happened but she gave these to me seeing how much I liked them.

I flew back home and the first thing I thought was "I gotta make some cool shit like this". I tried replicating the fish (left) but obviously couldn't. This was love at first sight for me and it has only amplified over time and I will always cherish that day :)

10.jpeg

11.jpeg


Keep Creating

Lots Of Love <3

Sort:  

You got a 13.42% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @aishwarya! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 40 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 56858.44
ETH 2919.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60