Olive

in #art5 years ago (edited)

Probably my first gouache portrait, if I remember correctly. So, for the past week I have been dodging painting or anything to do with drawing/sketching. I don't know why but sitting down with my supplies felt like too much work even though it was bothering me from inside. But today I sat with a fresh and motivated mind and thought of learning portraits in gouache.

Now, I love the style of tiling and color blocking in this medium because of the opaqueness. I want to gain skills of painting portraits with proper focus on light sources and I love the use of colors that just pop out. For example: use of oranges or blues on skin tone. I think it adds so much fun and excitement! For my first one today I used a picture from Pinterest and applied a filter in Photoshop which added some wonky colors to it. I didn't select too many from it so as to avoid losing control over this piece.


IMG_7645.JPG

5.jpg

IMG_7636.JPG

I made a huge mistake with the first layer of skin, mixing all the wrong colors and much darker than they were supposed to be. And honestly it looked creepy in the beginning and very odd after adding the greenish tint on the face. But once I was done, it's not that I hated it.

I love using angle brush with gouache as it gives me a lot of hand movement and control. And there is just something about using it which feels nice. But this was possible only for the sweater which required least detailing. I used a smaller flat brush for the face but I think I have to use a round one in the next. I mean I think it will take me loads of spoiled artworks before making my first good one. Nevertheless, I am way too excited for making the next one <3 What do you guys think?

7.jpg

8.jpg

IMG_7648.JPG

IMG_7649.JPG

IMG_7642.JPG


Keep Creating

Lots Of Love <3

Sort:  

Great artwork. Nice to see some process steps too! :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you so much :)

This is your first gouache? You did WONDERFULLY, I love specially how you did the skin tone, with the complementary colours of blues and oranges .... They generate an exciting and lively result, indeed <3 You should do more, I think <3 It'd be lovely to see more from you :)

Thank you so much! Means a lot :)
I am trying to learn the basics for now and finding it easier with practice. Thanks a ton for the support. Do you paint too?

Nice penting

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations! I just stopped by to say that your post has been selected as a daily Featured Post of my personal curation project! You can find the daily Featured Post HERE.
I upvoted your contribution and I put it on the list because to my mind your post is what I call a quality content!
I am @miti, a manual curator that shall make available all his Steem Power to authors deserving of support. Let's make STEEM great again!
Have a nice day and keep up the good work!

You're welcome!

You got a 44.08% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @aishwarya! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 40 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Nice portrait.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you :)

Me Encantó... I Loved...

Thank you so much :)


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64231.88
ETH 3128.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95