You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: "How to draw manga" Review and exercises - Part 1

in #art6 years ago

I like how you describe the drawing techniques in detail, and what features to emphasize to express the characters' emotions. Even though I'm practically blind, I can get oddly curious about drawing techniques... the manga illustrating the mangakas' progress sounds fun, too.

When I was a kid and my vision was a bit better (it had always been low, but was better than it is now), I used to rent anime tapes from a rental shop specialized in Japanese shows (with Japanese audio and no subtitles), and watched them for hours. I was surprised when you mentioned Doraemon, because it was the first of these anime I rented (I loved Doraemon!). Dragon Ball and Pokemon also came later. I had to keep my face very close to the TV to be able to see anything, and then later I'd draw the characters on a sketchbook. Good times. Whenever I come across posts about drawing and such, I recall that I miss the times when I was able to draw...

Sort:  

I'm sorry to hear that, Aiyumi. My mother has Multiple sclerosis and she got aware of that when she lost 80% of the vision of one eye. When she started getting treated, she almost fully recovered, but those months were really hard for her.

I remember those tapes! Here in Argentina, we had to buy them from what we call 'caves' of comics and most of them were bootlegs. I have good memories of Doraemon because I had the chance to watch it on TV, it had a decent spanish dub but it was easy to tell that the animation was older than Dragon Ball or Pokémon.

Thanks for stopping by!

There was a dub of Doraemon over here in Brazil too, but I was too little at the time it aired (I think it was around 1991), and I don't remember practically anything. My real contact with Doraemon, which made me really enjoy it, only began around 1996 with those tapes. Saint Seiya was quite popular over here, but it didn't grab my interest until year 2000 or so.

I'll stay tuned for more of your manga series!

Yeah, we must be of similar age. Here it was on a channel called Magic Kids in the 90s throughout early 2000s when the channel shut down.

Today, I started working on the next part so I'll post it soon.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63793.53
ETH 3193.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.92