Drawing and Coloring Tutorial: Harley Quinn

in #art6 years ago

Hey people! Today I'm posting here a tutorial I did to show you my drawing/coloring process of DC's character Harley Quinn. Hope it can help you somehow :)

harley quinn-banner.png

Step 1

The first lines are loose and simple, just to mark the proportions an perspective of the drawing.

harley quinn-1.png

Step 2

Then I give it a little more worked lines, getting a little more closer to the shape of the character.

harley quinn-2.png

Step 3

Now I add some more important details, but it is still a rough sketch.
harley quinn-3.png

Step 4

Then I do the final lineart of the drawing, but without the black fills.
harley quinn-4.png

Step 5

And then I add the black fills of the drawing, and the first part is done. Next we add the colors.
harley quinn-6.png

Step 6

First I add the flat colors.
harley quinn-7.png

Step 7

Now I add the gradient shades and lightnings of the drawing.
harley quinn-8.png

Step 8

And then some kind of hard shadows and lightings.
harley quinn-9.png

Step 9

Some little lightning details of bright on the clothes.
harley quinn-10.png

Step 10

Now add a background and a general yellow gradient on Photoshop's multiply mode, and voilá!
harley quinn-11.png

And here a small gif to illustrate a little more, hope you liked it! :)

harley-quinn.gif

Sort:  

You have a very skilled technique. How many thousand hours did it take you to be able to draw these elegant lines?

Thanks! Haha it took me more or less some three hours do to the whole drawing XD

Of course. But have you counted approximately overall hours for your drawing skill?

Hey, great post and pictures. Thanks for your lesson ! I upvoted you , and I will probably go on with upvoting!

Would you follow and upvote me too ! It does not cost you something !

Your pics are just gorgeous!!! Followed!

This post has received a 3.42 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @aleduruy.

This post was resteemed by @steemvote and received a 28.5% Upvote

I really like how you pace yourself in the process. I tend to make the mistake of jumping from step 1 to step 5 and things always feel off. After seeing this I feel inspired to try a more methodical approach to layering the sketches as they evolve in detail. Thank you for sharing your techniques!

Yeah me too... sometimes when I'm in a hurry, I also jump several steps and this usually ends up making the drawing have lots of anatomy problems that I'm only going to realize in the end... so I started to follow these methods to have better final results. I'm happy you liked it :D

im constantly using too many layers in photoshop, and work too zoomed in...habitually

Thats where I'm at right now with my work too except I tend to stay too zoomed out lol. being a stickler for details seems to be the cause. Thank doge for groups.

would love to see how @aleduruy manages layers if there is an easier way.

Your drawing is wonderful as usual but today is especially cool.

I'm happy that you liked it :)

Nice drawing!

Do you use ink/marker or do you start with graphite or charcoal first. I know some artist who like the pen over the pencil because (they say)it forces them to but more deliberate on their choices during the entire process. I was just wondering what technique you choose because you are obviously making goog decisions and you work proves it.

I love your drawings, Do you do them in Photoshop? You have such a wonderful skill. I am also graphic design. I do design on world famous landscape and buildings.

If you have any free time, please do visit my post too.

https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@ronluilh/hi-steemit-my-name-is-ron-and-i-am-a-architecture-student-graphic-designer

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65457.15
ETH 2939.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68