Big painting commissions

in #art6 years ago

Sometimes I take commissions…
This two paintings are in a “special category” of commissions because I was approached by a friend that works as an interior designer and he needed art for the houses that he was working on at the time. He had to convince the clients against some very generic looking prints that wouldn’t have looked good with his interior design and hang some original paintings instead.
The first painting was done to replace the idea of a New York skyline oversized print, so I was asked to paint a large composition on two canvases very colorful and geometric for the office, because that would have fitted better in the context of the room.

This is what I came up with
I used acrylics and the whole composition was 90/200 cm on two canvases each measuring 90/100 cm

415ddd28477281.55c2093f8c77d.jpg

dbd3fe28477281.55c2093f8da9d.jpg

4c21aa28477281.55c2093f926ec.jpg

70402c28477281.55c2093f8ed5c.jpg

The second painting I had to do consisted in splashes that gave the impression of lily flowers for the living room.

hkjh.jpg

f2bb2228477281.55c2093f8b6fd.jpg

The name you see in the corner of the pictures is my friend's name Robert Trusca- if you want to see more of his designs projects here is his webpage : http://roberttrusca.com/interior-design-projects/commercial/bijuteria-stil-unirea/attachment/bijuteria-stil-unirea-interior-design-robert-trusca-1

1618486_10152159945007427_659704604_n.jpg

Even larger scale 100/200cm on two square canvases
Again I used acrylics but this time along with an impasto medium that made my paint very thick.
Instead of splashing with a brush I used large syringes and cannulas ( a bit creepy but that is what I used) :))
Unfortunately I do not have good photography of this painting where you can actually see the texture.

So this was my “special category” of commissions and I name it so because at first I was a bit thrown off by the project- it went against my way of choosing a subject and aesthetic of a painting. Even so, the moral of the story is that, it was a good exercise and it led me to try things that I wouldn’t normally choose to paint and discover new techniques.

In the end I was happy, my friend was happy and the clients were happy :P
Are you happy with this post?
Let me know in a comment
Upvote and Resteem are not mandatory only if you think is worth it :P

https://www.facebook.com/alexandrav.art/shop
https://www.instagram.com/alexandrav.art/
https://www.etsy.com/people/alexandravasile4
https://twitter.com/alexandrav_art

Sort:  

It stands so nice on the wall, I bet it was a lot of work with first one?

I worked about two weeks on the first and 4 days on the second but I liked the second more but I didn't have time to take good pics I gave it away so fast

These are brilliant! Love the first one with the neon geometric shapes.

Your work is featured in my latest post :)
https://steemit.com/steemfest/@jeffjagoe/art-at-steemfest-2-0-a-selection-of-work

thanks your post is so cool resteem

wow! its so beautiful painting with nice colour combination!

thank you for your kind words

Brilliant!! Im very happy to see that . So much imagination ..play with colors c:
Great job Alexandra!

Congratulations @alexandravart! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @alexandravart to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66936.87
ETH 3079.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66