Lucky Dog to Lotus Flower

in #art5 years ago (edited)

View this post on Hive: Lucky Dog to Lotus Flower


Stencils from (reclaimed) Dog-food Bags


Imgur

--

Hello my friends,

As some of you may already know, I have a passion for using reclaimed items in my artwork. This passion was ignited whilst studying 'Interior Design' with a project called 'Reclaim Reframe'.

The scope of the project was to source materials that were recycled from one item and re-purpose them into a new item with a new function. My interpretation at the time was to reclaim the cables from old-skool playstation guns and reframe them into actual skipping ropes (oh, the horror..!)

These days, I have an abundant supply of dog food bags and for months, I've been trying to think of a way to re-use the plastic. They make excellent paint catchers for when I'm doing my fluid art but I always felt they could be put to a much better use, somehow...?

Well today, I think I may have found that use - I've been holding back from making stencils over the past couple of weeks, only because I didn't have anything suitable to cut them from and when I emptied the 'Lucky Dog' bag this morning, I looked at it and thought, 'I might as well give it a try'. (I mean, who doesn't like free art supplies?)


Imgur

Yellow: design used as a mask (ghost print - top right)
Purple: stencil design applied with a sponge


Anyhoo, the results are positive... overall, I think the stencil turned out pretty good and the plastic cut very easily... in fact, the only problems I had, were due to my own errors, such as working with a dull blade and some flaws in the design causing problems during both the printing and stenciling process (but wouldn't be an issue if I were screen-printing). The only negative was the plastic might be a bit flimsy for some uses but I already have some ideas about how to fix that.

Soooooo, will I be exploiting this unexpected freebie in my creative quest through the (sometimes very expensive) world of art supplies?

Well, frankly, YES..!

Today's experiment may not have produced the perfect result but I can definitely see the potential.

Line

Thanks for stopping by and reading my post, I really do appreciate your time.

And remember to keep smiling, it makes people wonder what you're thinking...!


Kindest Regards

If you enjoyed reading my post, please follow, comment and upvote.
All photos, stories and graphics are my own work unless otherwise noted.


Imgur

Line

Make your own steemitboard footer with this post by @arcange

Line


Looking for some fun games to play on Steemit? Build an empire with Drugwars

Line

Proudly representing

Imgur

Line

Proud supporter of @steeming-hot

steeming-hot-bot_small.png

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by alphaccino.art from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64534.17
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01