A Christmas gift

in #art5 years ago

Hello Steemians, and a very merry Nativity of the Sun! haha! Whatever you celebrate during these days, even if you don't, I wish you all a very happy time : )

Gift-giving has always been one of my favourite parts of our society's rituals. Whether it is because of Christmas, anniversaries, promotions, life-achievements, or just the heck of it, gift-giving is a great way of materializing the appreciation you feel for those around you. It is an opportunity to show you know them without having to state so in words, which is often very difficult to do.

I know what you're thinking. Hang the capitalist pig! - But! Let me clarify before you put me in the old lasso! Gifts are not at all about capitalism. Even a pebble from the street can be a great gift in some cases (I love weird-looking pebbles!). I actually prefer the "made, not bought" approach to gift giving, as the whole purpose of a gift is for it to be meaningful. I think the most important part of a gift is that of any relationship - details

So today, I present you with a gift I made for a very special friend. Hope you like it! : )

--------------------------------

final.gif

I used the free software PikoPixel to make every image - The card, the bike, the lillies, and the face; and to compose the final image. Made 6 frames moving the bike, the little stars and opening and closing the eyes, and then created the gif using the free software GIMP - "The Photoshop of the poor" according to a friend, haha!

Her face. I made it following a photo of her, this was the hardest part!

Her bike. Also following a photo. A bit easier!

The Clow Card. This is taken from one of her favourite shows, Cardcaptor Sakura, where there are these cards that have magical powers associated with their names. I gave her the magical power of "The Creator", as she is an artist! Gotta thank marvelous artist Momimoi, from whose designs I took up most of the card design. This is her imgur page

Lillies are her favourite flower! Also followed photos for these

Happy holidays and get gift-giving! :D

Sort:  

That’s a nice gif up there, love the n-bit (when basically it ain’t 8-bit nor 16-bit) pixel artstyle. But I dunno why anybody but Rad Libs (or people that pretend to be radical but don’t know what they’re doing nor saying) would even fathom saying that to yah. (For the Rad Libs I find it funny that they think all is lost and that attacking gift-giving is a way. Oh those poor, poor, Rad Libs... they don’t even realize from Anarchist to Marxist states celebrated Xmas and the CCCP extensively used Santa Clause on their post cards, especially in the space race! But the Rad Libs are a joke of their own that should be laughed at and then slowly educated into a proper Revolutionary ideology.) Anyways, happy New Years!

I already upvot’d and resteem’d this, just wanted to stop by!
0F4A781C-6A5B-4C83-9C41-D14636D7F859.gif

A very happy New Year to you, and thanks a lot for your continued support!! You are one of the people that help me keep motivated to post : )

It is the first time I experiment seriously with graphic arts, and it is great to receive some positive feedback :D

P.D. n-bit pixel art, I'm keeping that term, haha!

Wow, you are a person of many talents, @amirani (much more than just a prolific storyteller). Nice!

Thanks a lot!

I just try to approach everything as a storyteller. I think everything can be told as a story, and all things have stories to tell... That's how I make gifts, and even how I understand something so seemingly unlikely as thermodynamics, haha!

Pretty cool gif-t @aminarani:):) Now that i am losing myself in the world of gifs we will have a lot more to talk:):):)

It's so great that your art is getting many forms!

What a wonderful gift, @amirani :) I always think the best gifts are the ones people hand-made themselves and the ones that contain knowledge of the person intimately :) And this one definitely is a lovely present !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65852.33
ETH 2958.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73