Breaking through - sand sculpture

in #art4 years ago



There was an ulterior motive for the organisers of this project to invite me. They asked that while I was making a sculpture could I also throw together a documentary of the event for promotional purposes. Now, any of you who know anything about film making will know that a documentary is not something you just 'throw together'. It takes planning and lots of time to get the right shots for the story you hope to form.
Having to do both at the same time would be a challenge but you know me, in for a penny in for a pound.
Of course I would have preferred just one roll on the event and knew that spreading myself so thin would require one of the projects to suffer, in this case it was the sculpture. I'll see if I can share the video later to see if you think the sculptures failings were worth it.



Fun in the sun

The venue was the seaside town of Vinaros, Catalonia. Not too far south of Barcelona. I was very happy to go to the project as it was small group of some of my favorite carvers. During pound up (compacting the sand) I began work on the documentary also and shot some nice action scenes. Then back to work on my own sculpture. I didn't compact a massive block as the heat was pretty wild and sapped all my energy the filming was also much more fun, I was given a helper who was a young local girl that was very eager to shovel and work on her tan which I found quite distracting to say the least. Having spent the day compacting and videoing what I could we retired and I tried to think of what to make.

An idea formed of a figure pushing through a wall of blocks. It had no real meaning, I just thought that it might be interesting to make something figurative and abstract.
The figure itself wasn't too great. The pose was stiff and I was forced to give her thicker legs than were natural, to support her weight. I think I made her head too big the begin with, my mind wasn't really in the game as I chopped and changed from sculptor to documentary maker. Truth be told I was enjoying the filming more that the sculpting.



The wall that the character was trying to break through was a collection of stacked blocks with only the ones she pressed against moving. On the other side I tried to keep the form that she created. I actually liked the idea and may do something else with it some day,

Stroke of genius

One idea I had while I was working was wouldn't it be cool to have one of those pin box things but as front door to your house. When you have a visitor all they have to do is push themselves into the pins and you could see who it was on the other side. You would have no need for a peep hole or security camera. Brilliant!. Your visitors would probably have to remove their clothes to make it work correctly but that is a small price to pay to gain entry... to my house anyway.
That reminds me, I must add inventor to my resume


image.png
source

Hidden

At the other side of the sculpture I carved the sand I had left over into a big sheet held up by hands so that it could catch the blocks as they came through. It was a quick solution in-fitting with the sculpture but it was also like I was just sweeping all of the loose sand under to rug to hid it, which is what it actually was.

As a sculpture it had a few elements that I liked but overall it just didn't gel together. I seemed that I got too tied up in the details and forget about the bigger picture. Still worthy of documenting, as you never know what it may inspire down the road. I thought the documentary came together quite nice and really gave a sense of how it is to be a sand sculptor because it was from my point of view, I have seen other documentaries on sand sculptor but they don't seem to portray what it is all about. I hope I can upload it to DTube even though I did a very silly thing and followed the organisers suggestion in using music which we didn't have the permission to use. We'll see.



I enjoyed filming the other sculptors at work and doing the few interviews. It is interesting for me to see the way they cut and molded the sand into the forms they are trying to make and how it is so different to me. I could see why they are some of my favorite sculptors and maybe I might even steal some of their techniques now that I can analyse it frame by frame.



clickablesm.gif



Ps

Thanks for reading. I use Steem to document my work as an ephemeral Sculptor of sand, snow and ice, among other things. This will hopefully give it a new life on the Steem blockchain. Below you will find some of my recent posts.


The sculptor's studio - sand sculpture

Terraform - sand sculpture

The Five Senses - sand sculpture- timelapse

I hope you'll join me again soon
@ammonite

Sort:  

This post has been resteemed by @original.content.

Follow me to keep up-to-date with posts tagged #oc and the author on @ocdb's follow list.


Powered by witness untersatz!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=ammonite
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=breaking-through-sand-sculpture


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @georgeboya.


@helpie is a Community Witness.
For more information about our project,
please visit this month’s UPDATE post.

this is amazing my friend xx I would love to see the video xx

I will try to upload it soon. Thanks buddy.

You need to tell people these things 🤣 though I think that a lot of people think documentary is just pointing the camera at things and not realising that that also needs a lot of editing never mind the planning that goes on before you even start.

Or at least the planning you’re supposed to do before you even start (I have totally not come up with an idea and started executing in the next few minutes or in the middle of something else which I’ve then improvised my way through ever really >_>)

I don’t think the sculpture failed. The idea is definitely interesting, would love to see it come up again 🙃 and I’m not sure about your pin door idea I mean why would you need to take off your clothes for it to work properly just use smaller pins 🤣 man that thing would be hell to clean up if it ever broke 🤣

And yeh you probably shouldn’t have used copyrighted music and definitely should have told the organisers why that’s a bad idea and why you wouldn’t 🤣

Though having said that I’m not sure what music videos that you make to someone else’s music comes under as I’ve done that a few times 😵

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hiya, @choogirl here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #643.

Your post has been manually curated by the @steemitworldmap team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider upvoting and supporting us.

You are the best, I ever heard that a good sculptor has huge knowledge about drawing and proportions. Make sculptures should be the next level I guess. 😉

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70839.13
ETH 3563.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.77