The first breakfast nativity - sand sculpture

in #art5 years ago (edited)



We all know that Jesus had a last supper but I'm sure you never heard of his first breakfast. It was a much more select group of people. His mother and step father were there, of course but so were some shepherds, a couple of kings, a washer woman, a guy taking a poop, an angel and some animals. All it was really missing was a partridge in a pear tree.


Leonardo da Vinci (1452-1519) - The Last Supper (1495-1498)


source Wikimedia commons



Breaking away

For the 2003 La Pineda, Catalonia sand sculpture nativity we decided to break away completely from the idea of a manger and instead base the sculpture on Leonardo da Vinci's famous painting. Why? because, why not. I mentioned before that there were so many other tradition cribs around the Mediterranean made from sand we wanted to be different and give our audience a bit of a challenge and maybe a bit of a smile.



Motley crew

In the Catalan nativity there are several other characters which they have added over the years that we in Ireland do not have. A woman washing clothes which i still don't know the reason for and the Caganer a guy literally taking a poo. He represents the fertilising of the ground and was added during the Baroque period. As they say if it's not Baroque, don't fix it. So, he is at the far end of the table. The toilet he is sitting on is hidden in my photos but his grimacing face tells the tale .



On each side of the sculpture there were some angels. This one made by Ludo Roders from Holland. I love her style.



And this one by Anique Kuizenga who is also from Holland.



Most of the rest of us worked on the different characters at the table. It was quite fun to try and play with Leonardo's composition and make the different figure interact in a similar way. I think most of the audience loved the idea but there were some that thought that playing with the idea of the traditional crib wasn't, well, traditional and in ways blasphemous. In the media some complained that we were using public money to enjoy ourselves, other stood up for us and the town hall Major, who was paying for the whole thing loved the attention the whole thing was getting. Much more than if it was a vanilla crib.

As Oscar wilde said 'There is only one thing in life worse than being talked about, and that is not being talked about.'



I was also responsible for the star and a little Bethlehem landscape at the back of the sculpture which I decorated with plants that were able to grow in the clayey sand. I liked the whole sculpture and the fact we had created a controversy.

Provoking an emotion, good or bad is what art is all about.


clickablesm.gif




Ps

Thanks for reading. I use Steem to document my work as an ephemeral Sculptor of sand, snow and ice, among other things. This will hopefully give it a new life on the Steem blockchain. Below you will find some of my recent posts.




La Pineda 2018 - sand sculpture blog 8




La Pineda nativity 2002- sand sculpture




Tantalus - ice sculpture (remastered)

I hope you'll join me again soon.
@ammonite

Sort:  

Outstanding - I like the humor of it, the description is priceless!
I guess you found out same as I did that Steemit images are small now, and same as I had started using Flickr to link to larger views. You just quietly did your thing, while I ranted about it. I looked you up on Flickr and am now following you there.
upvoted, resteemed and shared: https://twitter.com/visionaryartcom/status/1073546966402064384

Thank you for everything. Yes I've never really been happy with the quality of photos on the Steem blockchain. I decided many moons ago to use flickr instead. It calls for alot of extra work, getting the links etc. but I think it is worth it. The first image in this post is a panorama and really needs the extra quality to see the details.
Having all my images on flickr also means I have more control of them in the future should I wish to use them somewhere else.
I honestly didn't know that Steemimages had reduced the quality so I'm glad I made this decision already to use a different host.

excellent - that is the way I will be going in future (when size really matters for artwork - not that necessary with just snapshots). Panorama: yes, that is included in my rant! You can't beat Flickr - I just recently upgraded to Pro, and would have to live another lifetime to even use all that storage space! In due time I will upload everything to Flickr (I got most of my artwork on it already), but have tons of nature and travel photography still to do.

very amazing,.. you're very talented

first Breakfast )) it's funny!

I like to not take my work too seriously.

This is absolutely wonderful, @ammonite ! Simply spectacular :D :D :D The design is magical and I love the craftsmanship, also, and the humour ! THE HUMOUR is really incredible :D :D :D

What a beautiful artwork <3 Simply magical <3 <3 <3

Wow, thank you. I must apologies that I have only just checked out your blog. Wonderful stuff. You make it look so easy.

You did a wonderful artwork!!! It's fantastic!!!!!! :-)))))

Thanks, it was alot of fun.

Hiya, just swinging by to let you know that this post made the Honorable Mentions list in our daily Travel Digest. If you enjoy steemit worldmap and the manual curation effort we're going through each day, please consider supporting what we do!

Hi @ammonite!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.209 which ranks you at #2866 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 8 places in the last three days (old rank 2858).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 253 contributions, your post is ranked at #40.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=ammonite
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=the-first-breakfast-nativity-sand-sculpture


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63035.00
ETH 3022.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82