Tranquil - sand sculpture

in #art6 years ago (edited)



I don't want to sound mushy but with this sculpture there is a certain amount of mush necessary. It is about that time that you are so in Love that you become one with each other. Your mind and body are so intertwined that you can only feel completely a peace in the presence of the other.

I think the Postal Service said it best in 'Such Great Heights'(Youtube video)

and I have to speculate
that God himself
did make us into
corresponding shapes
like puzzle pieces from
the clay

This is another in the series I made about the different stages of relationships. The previous two I wrote about in The kiss and Skin on Skin which you can check out if you so desire.

With this piece I wanted to take away all the space between the figures and create poses which left no room for 'cut-throughs' (holes in the sand sculpture). I really enjoy making cut throughs and had made some of the biggest I had seen in sand but for this I wanted the opposite. To make my two figures so touching there was no gap between them. Unfortunately one did slip in under the male figures elbow but i think I will forgive me that. If you want to complain please send a stamped addressed envelope with your gripes to the Minister of Sand Sculpture, Turnsburry House, NR3 1LB, Norwish. UK and you will receive the sand I took from the hole.



When I arrived in Valladolid, Spain the sand was just dumped in piles on the Plaza mayor de Valladolid and I could make whatever I wanted. Instead of compacting the sand into a big block to carve my sculpture out of I just hopped up on top of the pile and started carving. I knew I wouldn't need any strength in the sand to do what I wanted and me standing on the sand compressed it enough.



I was actually very happy with the way the piece worked out. Maybe not my carving quality but because the sculpture made me feel the emotion I was trying to convey. For me this is very important. I think Art should make you feel something. For me the figures appear 'tranquil'.



The sand was quite nice to work with but we did have some heavy showers of rain that dappled the surface and since my sculpture was soft and fully exposed i needed to rework the surface a few times to make it look smooth.



The sand that each sculptor was given had to be used in it's entirety meaning that i couldn't dump away any of it. As a solution for the base I made a form which I could smooth all the sand into. A bit Like trying to sweep dirt under a carpet. This big fabric I then tacked down with with some sand nails so it wouldn't blow away.


clickablesm.gif




Ps

Thanks for reading. I use Steem to document my work as an ephemeral Sculptor of sand, snow and ice, among other things. This will hopefully give it a new life on the Steem blockchain. Below you will find some of my recent posts.




Caged baby - ice sculpture




Market Analysis using digital elevation maps




My introduction to Ice Sculpture - ice sculpture

I hope you'll join me again soon.
@ammonite

Sort:  

Very nice sand sculpture, @ammonite ! Wish there were more progress pictures, but the final result communicates the love and the bond that we need from each other as human beings :) Beautifully done !

Thanks, I don't have progress photos of all my work. ( cameras and sand don't play well together) but I did do one last December where I made progress reports on Steem.

Posted using Partiko Android

You don’t ever have to worry abaout me telling you “ya this one really sucks!” Or anything like that @ammonite. Incredible work. Again.

What are you trying to capture with the outside of the sculpture? Is it a tarp maybe or a net that’s nailed down covering the piece they’re lying on?

Thanks yet again.
I wanted the form that the figures were lying in to be as simple as possible and this was the shape the sand suggested to me. Having to use all the sand I was given, With this form I was able to just smooth it around until all the sand was gone. Like sweeping dirt under a rug. I agree that it looks like a tarp covering whatever they are lying on. For me it was mire just a pedestal.

I started watching for amazing sculptures and stayed for amazing sculptures and hilarious descriptions/stories that accompany them XD

Yay for being actually happy with how the piece worked out for a change ;D You may not like your carcing quality but I do! And you needed that cut-through or the anatomy would have wonkered. Love how you used up the rest of the sand in the pile.

Very true about the cut through. There is only so far you can warp anatomy before it just looks wrong.
While figures aren't my strongest suit I really love making them and try to improve as the years go on.

Posted using Partiko Android

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=ammonite
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=tranquil-sand-sculpture


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

This post has been voted on from MSP3K courtesy of @isaria from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ).

Bots Information:

Join the P.A.L. Discord | Check out MSPSteem | Listen to MSP-Waves

Hi @ammonite!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.091 which ranks you at #3116 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 146 places in the last three days (old rank 2970).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 516 contributions, your post is ranked at #110.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Hello @ammonite, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 61959.02
ETH 3004.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59