The mother of all cakes - the Game of Thrones Cake!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #art6 years ago (edited)

It's an art

 
I truly admire pastry chefs, and when they deliver the ultimate cake both visually and the taste, I am mindblown.

I work for a software company and every year we hold a big event both in the US and in the UK for our clients.

A few years ago my company came up with the idea to bring something unique to the party here in the UK and they wanted to display the original DeLorean (from the movie, Back to the Future for the younger generation).

Yes, but where is this all connected, a big corporate event, sci-fi cars and cakes...? Well, ironically, the DeLorean was too big to fit in the lift, so they decided, instead of bringing the original, they will create something different, a cake what symbolises a big cinema event in the given year.

Something magical was born in 2015, but let's start in 2017,

the mother of all cakes, the Game of Thrones cake

spoiler alert for the Game of Thrones fans

The cake is about where the series left us hanging, the living dead dragon attacks the wall, with the Whitewalker on it.
It's unbelievable, all the little details, (check out the video as well at the end of my post) even the wooden steps at the back were designed with full detail, not to mention, that part of the cake was facing to the wall, so no one would have noticed if there is nothing there.





White Walker riding the dragon / Source: our website - https://www.bullhorn.com/blog/





detail from the back of the wall - https://www.bullhorn.com/blog/
 
Probably it's not visible as it's not in perspective, but it was a huge cake, I would say 1.5 meter x 2 meter (5f x 6.5f).

Some could argue, but for most, the Game of Thrones cliffhanger was the biggest in 2017.

Jumping back a year in our 2016 annual event, we enjoyed the company of


R2-D2 and C-3PO

 




source: https://www.bullhorn.com/blog/


And our first cake...as inspired by

The DeLorean

 




source: https://www.bullhorn.com/blog/
 
Well yes, if you can't have the original, just get one you can eat!
 
Finally, check out this short video about the Game of Thrones cake:
 

 
Which cake did you like the most?

Also, don't forget to check out my newest post about my Sri Lankan trip here.

Best,

@anddak

All video and image content of this and all my posts were made by me unless otherwise stated.

Sort:  

WOW I've never seen such impressive cakes before! This is another level! I like all of them! But I think the Delorean is my favorite one. Thanks for sharing :)

Thank you :) It's pretty fascinating really, I truly admire the baker

I can tell, I admire the baker too! ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 66101.68
ETH 3023.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71