Some recent 8"x10" acrylic paintings

in #art6 years ago (edited)

I've been working on quite a few smaller paintings recently. Normally I like to work at a little bit larger size as it's more comfortable and there's more room for detail. Something that I've found with working smaller though is that where it lacks in the depth of detail, the benefits of working fast and experimenting with composition more than make up for it.

daydreamresize.jpg
"Daydream"
8"x10"
Acrylic on Canvas

One thing about my typical process of making a painting is that I never plan out what I am going to make beforehand. Meaning, I don't sketch out my image on the canvas beforehand. I don't make preliminary sketches or studies. I typically treat each painting I make as the study itself. Considering my personal process, working small and taking bigger risks with compostion can lead to some fortuitous results.

When working on a larger piece it takes some guts to make big changes after a lot of work has gone into rendering the different elements. This definitely gives some credence to planning things out. I personally like to leave space for chance and exploration to occur in the piece itself. It makes the act of creating that much more exciting because sometimes when a piece is finished I get a satisfying feeling of surprising myself.

velazquezresize.jpg
"Velazquez"
8"x10"
Acrylic on Canvas

Now, this isn't to say that, while I do enjoy leaving many things up to chance, that I don't consider what I'm about to make. A lot of the times when I come with an overarching idea for a series I'll really think about the subject matter I want to express and the various symbolic elements I want to include. After a bit of time and quite a few notes (I'm always taking notes, always writing down words and image ideas), I'll search around for reference images. I have folder after folder of images I have looked up.

atrophyresize.jpg
"Atrophy"
8"x10"
Acrylic on Canvas

What is it they say? "Luck is when preparation meets opportunity." That's how I like to approach my work.

Sort:  

Gorgeous artworks, such beautifully vibrant colours :)

Thanks! The color was fun to play with. Sometimes it's hard to know when you get too crazy with the color. I particularly like the majority pink one because it took some self restraint that gave some nice results

Nice, I'm adding you to the @ARTzONE voting list. You should check out @OccupyWallets, he's one of our curators and lives in Denver.

Awesome! I'll check it out.

Congratulations @andrewdavisart! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Congratulations @andrewdavisart! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

I love the first one. You have great talent.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 67646.69
ETH 3790.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.50