Putting the Layers Together - Gwen's Quilt Sandwich - Needlework Monday

in #art6 years ago (edited)

When one pins together the top, batting and bottom of a quilt in order to get it ready to be quilted together, this is called making a quilt sandwich. This is one of my least favorite things to do in preparation for quilting, but it must be done in order to finish the project! Today, I will show you the steps along the way!

IMG_0746.JPG

The first step I take to make the quilt sandwich is I tape the back to the ground with its face down. I unusually just use painter's tape so that it comes off the quilt and the floor easily. I try to stretch it out nice and smooth so that it is straight when I pin it.

IMG_0737.JPG

Next, I take my front and cut some batting about 1-2 inches wider than the front. I use 100% cotton batting. The ladies at the quilt shop said that isn't necessary here in Panama because it will hold a mildew smell, but this quilt is headed to Texas. Here they use a polyester blend.

IMG_0738.JPG

Then it is time to line up all three parts and start pinning. I use rounded quilting pins to hold them together. It's much easier to use these than straight safety pins because they easily go through all three layers and then point back up, thanks to the curve. I have three sizes of pins and I really don't like the smallest ones. I almost always start in the middle and work my way out, with all pins pointing in the same direction.

IMG_0739.JPG . IMG_0741.JPG

I work until the whole quilt is pinned. When I learned to do this, they said to pin every 4 inches. On this quilt, I just decided to pin every square which is about every 4 inches. I always sit in an odd position so that I don't accidentally open one of the pins while I'm working and get poked!

IMG_0743.JPG

This quilt took me about an hour to baste together with pins, from start to finish. It wasn't so bad and I only had to tell the dogs a few times to get off.

IMG_0740.JPG

At the end, I pull it off the floor, make sure all the pins went through, take the tape off and fold it up. Then it sits folded up until I get the time, energy and desire to do the quilting. I have three weekends left until I have to hand the quilt off to my parents for delivery in Texas, so I've got to get to work as the next two phases are slow going - quilting and binding.

IMG_0742.JPG

I am hopeful to get the quilting done in a handful of hours. Thanks for following my progress. I can't wait to show a finished product soon!!!


Progress posts on Gwen's quilt:
Starting a new wonky star quilt
Gwen's quilt top is finished
Making the quilt back
Personalizing the quilt back with my embroidery machine


monday.png
#NeedleworkMonday by @crosheille

1panama ben fb.jpg

The STEEM Engine

Sort:  

I didn't use that tag on this post and I KNOW I haven't used it 56 times on my posts. I don't abuse the tag...

You are right, this was an error. Very sorry for the confusion.
Thank you very much for pointing it out so quickly.
I have upvoted you.

Thanks! Could it be pulling it off the steem engine banner I have at the bottom? It links to an introduceyourself post...

It was. We had made some changes and the change looked deeper than it should have.

Thanks again for pointing this out so quickly.

Wow. I too anticipate the end product and want to know how long you spent finishing it, @apanamamama! Always love your vibrant bright colours selection! :)

No help from the pooch this time? hehe

Never knew how quilts were put together, learning a lot from your posts. Thank you! It will be so nice when it is done.

Its great work all here.n ice needle art work..best of luck

Thanks! It is coming along. :)

Thanks! I'm super happy with the way it's coming along. Now to get it off the desk and get to work on quilting it!!

I am in the process of making my first full sized quilt. It definitely takes time and patience. Thanks for sharing your progress @apanamamama!

Full size!! Wow! I haven't done anything larger than SMALLER than a twin. :) I've done larger than a lap, but not quite a twin. I definitely don't think I could handle a full on my small machine.

Oh.....don't be impressed until I am finished. :-)

Wow, this quilt is really big! It is definitely a quilt sandwich. The work this requires, the taping and pining, the sitting in awkward position and telling pets to get off I totally relate to that.
I am hoping you get it finished like you want.☺ thanks for raking time out of your much needed to share this with us.

Lol - yep, it's a process. It's fun, but like I said, this is not my favorite part. The making of the top is probably my favorite...and probably why I have multiple tops that have not been finished! :)

Hey! Welcome to Steemit! lol :-) Maybe the bot thought you were introducing your quilts. It looks like the safety pins have endured a little abuse!

Yep, they're special quilting safety pins that are rounded. I couldn't find them and thought I was going to have to use REGULAR ones and that just wouldn't have worked! The bot was digging into my banners at the bottom and saw that the steem engine one had used that tag. Kind of crazy.

Hi. Finally, I learned how the pieces come together to put together a quilt. Thanks for sharing. I think to make a quilt to my best friend for his birthday, and I did not know how to unite to quilt. You have shown them to me. Regards.

:) Yea! I'm glad you learned how to do it. Hopefully you can get the quilt made for your friend! Share pics if so!

Wow, this was so interesting to see these steps! Just from sewing projects I understand pinning together is not the most fun, but of course it's necessary. Some day in the future, I hope to learn how to quilt!

You should learn! I learned from Happiness is Quilting in McKinney (now where Quilt Asylum used to be next to Big Lots). The ladies there are nice (but don't let them convince you that you need to learn to hand quilt first). It's a lot of fun to quilt - making the top is the most fun! :)

Okay, thanks @apanamamama, for the advice and telling me about that place in McKinney!

Oh wow... It is a lot of patience and hard work. And I love the happy colors! Giving you lotsa luck to be able to finish this on time. What a lovely gift this will be. Thank you for sharing!

Thanks! I'm super happy with the way it turned out!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64534.17
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01