Pixel Artists honors Bob Ross - Self Portrait in Pixel Art

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Bob Ross - Finished.png

So this time the Pixelart Weekly contest was about self portrait and I wanted to draw myself in a special way, in the pose Bob Ross was most remembered for.

A long time ago I noticed a meme about him however, I never took the time read about his background. Is it recently that I started watching his show on YouTube and immediately started to admire his art. After a while, now I clearly understand why many call him a legend. The way he works and his art are hypnotizing, he even leaves you with little life lessons.


I had to pixel myself on the canvas.

IMG_20180308_105347small.jpg

Process Gif.gif

My inspiration was to see myself as an artist compared to another artist, to compare my skills with a professional in a way to mock myself, you should go and see how good Bob Ross actually is. I find this to be a neat way of motivation, a little way to achieve personal improvement.

Take some time and watch one of his episodes, you'll quickly understand to see any canvas as "your little world" in which you can do anything you wish.


About the Artwork



The face itself was a little tricky to get right, I spent some hours trying to get the hair look good enough. I even added a couple of colors to the palette for it.





.

A little homage to Paint. I actually use a program called PaintdotNet for all my works, its perfect for me because it has just the right amount of tools to draw and I'm still not used to all the interface that comes with Photoshop level programs.



Thanks for Watching!



Special Thanks to:

  • My friends and their feedback.
  • @kristyglas for tips about polishing your post!
  • Bob Ross and his wonderful Art.
  • DawnBringer for his excelent 32 Color Palette.
Sort:  

Nice work, @arepazo! :D :D Pixel artists are amazing :D I love all the details <3 and the texture on the table <3

upvotes

Thanks a lot! That texture was rushed a little bit, I could have made the brown lines more curved to add some organic feel to it.

Chamo que fino!, me encanta :D revisare todo tu perfil, te sigo :D

firma 6.jpg

Gracias amigo, estoy viendo tu arte y esta bastante bueno!

This post has received a 8.12 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @jonny-clearwater.

Awesome work! And thank you for mention :D

Thanks! That post you made opened my eyes, putting effort into a post is something elemental for showing quality yet I didn't payed the attention it deserved.

Muchas gracias!

Upvoted on behalf of @thehumanbot and it's allies for writing this great original content. Do not use bid bots for at least 1-2 days, as your post may get picked up by top curators.
Great Original Works are rewarded by top Curators.If you like this initiative, you can follow me in SteemAuto and upvote the posts, that I upvote.
And remember to do some charity when you are rich by contributing to me.If you have any concerns or feedback with my way of operation, raise it with @sanmi , my operator who is freaking in Steemit chat or discord most of the time.

Amazingly talented!
Do you have a portfolio by any chance?

Thanks! No portfolio yet, the only other place I published my art is in my Tumblr which it only has the stuff I finished and I was confident enough to post them and most of them I think you've already seen! HAHA.
Are you interested in pixel sprite art?
I'm slowly working various game mock-ups, my sprite art is still weak but I'll post them up once I feel confident enough to share it. You should make a weekly theme about game sprites!

Well I actually make games.
Kind of why I wanted to see a portfolio of yours.
Btw...I was so impressed with your work the few times you entered that I am giving you a @booster on this post

Thanks again! I can show you my take on sprite art via discord if you're interested.
I really need to keep up the practice, I'll join more of your contests to improve even more.

Friend invite sent, I'm Arepa#6257

El grupo de promoción de @babelproyect ha votado tu contenido por considerar que es muy valioso para la comunidad y está incluido en el último resumen de post promocionados en el blog de nuestro proyecto. Esperamos gustosos que sigas compartiendo con nosotros tu obra. La meta de @babelproyect es promocionar a los artistas independientes y su obra. Nuestro equipo está compuesto por: @rahesi, @basileonardo, @seifiro, @dannaxkana, @otitrader, @thelastpoet, @abelinche, y @jorgebit. Para más información te esperamos en el canal de BABEL SIN FRONTERAS EN Discord: https://discord.gg/BytXJta

Hey :D Do you mind me mentioning this post in my newest post, as you used the tips that I compiled?

Sweet! You have my permission.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 64453.46
ETH 2971.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59