A Painting I did of the U.S Virgin Islands - Auctioned off for hurricane relief funds!

in #art6 years ago

virgin islands 4.jpg

This is one of my more simple paintings but the meaning behind is far from simple.

Obviously, everyone is aware that the world had some gnarly, destructive hurricanes in 2017. For a minute there, it seemed like there was a new city getting destroyed every day.

Thanks to the good people in the world, relief funds and crews stepped up! It seemed like a good majority of the focus was on Houston, TX (and believe me, I love my Texans) but there were so many other parts of the country that were getting destroyed and weren't getting as much "attention."

I was guilty of this as well, my mind was on all of the poor folks in Texas who had to live this nightmare but then I was quickly reminded of the destruction else where.

One of my clients (who now lives in Nashville) is from the U.S. Virgin Islands, St. Croix to be exact. During one of our meetings, she informed me of everything her friends and family were going through "back home." It was tragic to hear that mother's didn't have formula and diapers for their babies, to hear about her own family's home that has been destroyed, seeing photos of the devastating after math of the island that was once "Paradise."

I HAD to help, but how??

I racked my brain trying to come up with something different that I could do to help. Then it hit me...

I'm an artist! I can do a painting of the Virgin Islands and then auction it off!

(Of course all funds would go to purchasing supplies to ship out there.)

I wanted to capture the true beauty of these Islands and hopefully remind people of what an amazing, and magical place this was and will be again!

We are still in search of the perfect way to auction this off and are in touch with many galleries so I can't wait to turn this painting into food, water, diapers, formula, clothes, basic supplies etc...

Below are a few more photos I took during the process!

virgin islands 1.jpg

virgin islands 2.jpg

virgin islands 3.jpg

As always, thank you so much for reading and please follow me for more of my art photos and adventures!

www.artbyjessycamyers.com
https://www.instagram.com/art_by_jessyca/
https://www.facebook.com/ArtByJessycaMyers/

Sort:  

This is absolutely stunning !! I love water scenes and I personally have a painting of water scene in my house . Brings so much peace to mind . Keep doing great things

Thank you @journeyoflife !!! Water scenes are so much fun to paint and always so pretty!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.12
JST 0.030
BTC 69560.97
ETH 3671.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.29