Business tips and advice for fellow creatives! How to make an ACTUAL living being an Artist Part #4 The birth of Art By Jessyca Myers

in #art6 years ago

art show fencing 19.PNG

Happy 2018 everyone!

I spent the majority of 2017 putting things into place so I strongly believe that 2018 will be an incredibly productive year for me and cannot wait for all the things to come!

If you have read parts 1- 3 of this blog series, then you have learned a bit about me personally and my younger years as well as my first true attempt at starting a business. All of the experiences over the first 24 years of my life lead to what I am going to write about today.

Let's rewind a bit... I took a bit of a hiatus, regarding my business ventures, about 4 years ago due to finding out that I was growing a tiny human inside of me so I won't bore you with that year of sleep deprivation, crankiness and eating god knows what.

Just about exactly 3 years ago, when my daughter was 6 months old, my family and I decided to move from California (where I was born and raised) to Nashville, TN. This move was brought on by a job promotion I was offered and it was such a blessing in disguise! Like I had mentioned, I had taken a bit of a break from the entrepreneur world and focused on my new life. New daughter, new husband, new state, new home, new job...even a new cat. I still painted for fun, for that was it, just for fun.

After living in Nashville for just about a month, i started to notice that there was the start of an art "scene" here. Artwork by local artists filled the walls of almost every restaurant, coffee shop, brewery and retail store. It got my wheels spinning and I started to feel like I was missing out on something great. I ended up getting my first art show at Tailgate brewery. I was their featured artist for the month. I had never had an art show before but was so excited to give it a shot. To my surprise, I sold almost ALL of my original paintings I had hanging up for that month.

tailgate show 5.PNG

tailgate show 4.PNG

tailgate show 3.PNG

tailgate show 1.PNG

tailgate show 6.PNG

tailgate show 7.PNG

tailgate show 8.PNG

After this, a whole new fire was ignited in me!

I started booking art shows left and right. I was doing an art show almost every weekend because, like any career in the arts, I needed to gain as much exposure as I could get! I set up at coffee shops, bars, art crawls and pretty much any place that would accept me.

art show fencing 1.PNG

art show fencing 5.PNG

art show fencing 6.PNG

art show fencing 7.PNG

art show fencing 11.PNG

art show fencing 12.PNG

art show fencing 15.PNG

art show fencing 20.PNG

art show fencing 17.PNG

art show fencing 22.PNG

art show fencing 178.PNG

Doing these shows so often did make me stumble upon a few obstacles. I couldn't keep up with the producing original paintings which cause I lot of extra time and stress. I needed to work smarter, not harder (yes, corporate lingo applies to the art world as well.) I needed to expand my product line in order to free up more of my time as well as be able to provide a product for EVERYONE! (Believe it or not, not everyone collects original art haha.)

The process of how I expanded my "brand" will definitely take up a whole new blog so I will sign off for now and leave you all in suspense until next week. :)

Thanks for reading!

www.artbyjessycamyers.com
www.facebook.com/artbyjessycamyers
www.instagram.com/art_by_jessyca

Sort:  

Wow! If it's not art I won't support and if it's not real art, I don't like, but still anything for the money, I love what I see here, I love art and I would forever remain an artist.

Thank you! “Real art” come from artists who live and breathe it!

You just spoke the bitter truth, but I haven't known art yet, am still a big time learner.

Wow very inspiring post! Glad to see how far your talents have taken you! I have a friend who loves art and is good at it too, i'm definitely showing her this post next time I see her as she could use some encouragement. Your art is absolutely beautiful. Thanks for sharing your journey.

Thank you so much and please do show your friend. It can be very discourage trying to get anywhere in the art world which is why I hope these posts help inspiring even one person to keep on keeping on!

I love the idea of showing different artists in restaurants or bars and the art being for sale! Glad it went well:). Did you have an extra theme for each art show and did you try to fit it to the location? It can take a toll to always create something original. I wouldn't know that much, because to be honest I haven't been as productive as I wanted and could be, but it's getting much better and the creative bug bit me:D

As far as the theme, I try and choose pieces that will cater to the clientele of each location. For example, at a typical coffee shop, ill hang my more whimsical pieces but at a bar or more edgy restaurant I’ll hang my Star Wars stuff...it’s all about the clientele of a place. 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61918.40
ETH 2900.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64