Teach them while they're young - Introducing my 3 year old to the world of art!

in #art6 years ago

Emma art 3.PNG

Meet my Daughter Emma (AKA Emma Pop!)

Emma is 3 years old and finally at the age where I can invite her into my "art world!" I have been waiting for this moment since she was born. The moment I found out that I was pregnant with her, I fantasized about having mommy daughter painting sessions, having her help me pick out paint colors, teaching her different brush strokes etc...

It has taken her a while to take interest in "mommy's job" but she is finally wanting to be involved and I couldn't be more thrilled!! Sure, it is much easier to go into my art room, get lost in my own world and paint the night away, but it takes away so much of my time with her. I want nothing more than to involve her and let her watch and "help" me and then make up for lost time when she goes to bed.

Now that she has taken an interest, that has become a possibility! I have been teaching her how to probably wash a brush in between colors, how to blot her brush on a paper towel, how to hold her sheet of paper and so on. Now that she has her basic art skills, I have been letting her paint her own masterpieces beside me and its amazing! She loves it and feels so involved and I love it because it allows me to interact with her while still being productive.

Emma art 1.PNG

My whole point to this is just a reminder to take a second and share your passions with your kids! Whether she grows up to be an art collector or doesn't have an artistic bone in her body, I don't care. It's not about that. It's about the time you gain with your children when you share experiences with them that you may not think to.

emma art 2.PNG

Instead of hiding out in my office because I have to work, I can invite her along and have even more of those precious moments with her! Your kids care about what you do and are curious about it. Even if you are sitting at the table with a calculator and a mess of documents paying bills, take a second to explain to them what you are doing. Let them help push a button on the calculator or stack the papers up for you. They like to be included in everything and believe me, I know how much quicker it is to just leave them out of it and "get things done" but even taking a few minutes to include them can really make their day!

Cheers to all the children out there who have so much to learn and Cheers to the parents who take the time and patience to teach them!!

Emma art 4.PNG

Thank you for reading and please upvote and follow me if you enjoyed this! :)

www.artbyjessycamyers.com
https://www.instagram.com/art_by_jessyca/
https://www.facebook.com/ArtByJessycaMyers/

Sort:  

Going to visit my sister and her kids next month! They are so young I haven't even met them yet since I moved to the other side of the country. Maybe I can show them how to paint too haha.

Do it! It’s so much fun to watch them figure out what paint is and what the heck to do with it! Lol

Good when they are young and can be creative...I remember my son when he was 3 years old, doing brushstrokes on my canvas....sweet. <3

They are priceless moments!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65920.41
ETH 3016.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71