The taking of photographs is forbiddensteemCreated with Sketch.

in #art7 years ago

A group of people came into my gallery today and immediately began taking photographs of my work - despite the fact that there are signs saying that it is forbidden.

I of course told them to STOP and they acted really surprised saying that they did not see the signs and that they just thought it would OK.
"It´s only a photograph". Said one of then.
“It is also to do with respect and the fact that the artist has to make a living somehow. If like the work of an artist, but do not want to buy the original, you can either support the artist by either buying a reproduction or a postcard.” I explained.
"I don´t see what harm taking a photograph does" Said another one of the group.

“Do you see that painting over there" I said, pointing the techniques in that painting are entirely my own and they took me 6 years of experimenting and developing. That is six years of my life I took to create something entirely original, and then someone with a camera comes along and steals it in a fraction of a second.
I am sorry but in the art world stealing another artists style is rife due to the money involved. Over the years several professional artists have already tried to steal my style, and those are only the ones I have caught. I do not know who you are, you might be a tourist or you might be a professional so I just make a blanket rule NOT to allow photographs at all. Even if you are just a tourist, with that high quality camera of yours you can go home and make a print of the work and so deny me any income from my work. Don´t you ant to paid for the work you do. I think you will find that, it is generally accepted as the norm today in all galleries that the taking of photographs is forbidden. So you either do not visit galleries often, or you are taking the piss” I said. You can probably tell I was somewhat annoyed.

I then went out of the gallery and into my kitchen in order to make myself a coffee, (as a way to calm down) , but then when I returned I caught them taking photographs again. One of them even took one of my postcards, went around the corner, into the other part to the gallery, took a photo of it and then replaced it. Then the whole lot of then went out laughing.
You may think I am exaggerating, but I felt totally disrespected.

Over the years I have noticed that this disrespect for artists is increasing and I am not sure why and I am not sure of how to deal with it. Perhaps I should just forbid cameras in the gallery.
What do you think, am I over reacting about this?

Thank you for visiting my blog and a warm welcome to you next time @arthuradamson


Sort:  

I do not think you are over-reacting. All the images are free on the internet so people assume everything visual is free bait. Additionally they don't know how to have an experience without re-gurgitating it through taking a photo (selfie) and the result is what you are experiencing...a photo of their dinner and an art work seems to have the same value.

Excellent point, I think you hit the nail right on the head there. Its a modern problem it seems. Thanks for the support @elewarne

You are completely within your right to feel that way. I agree, photographing your work is stealing it. No two ways about that. Theft is completely wrong. We all have to make a living and that denies you that ability. Not good.

Appreciate the support - it helps to know that people care and understand - cheers for that.

hang a sign that say's ,photographing will lead to arrest and charged w/theft!.no shoplifting allowed . :-)
namaste.

I appreciate the sentiment, and I must admit, at the time I felt as strongly as that. The problem is that you want people to feel welcome to come into your gallery. I dont want to come across as unfriendly, if you understand what I mean? I want to believe and trust that folk will be respectful.

I want to believe that I am free!....
but I know the truth....
:-)
namaste!

You make a clear point and I respect that.
I mean regardless, it's your gallery you make the rules.
You say shoes off they take the shoes off . I can extrapolate even more but I will stop here, lol

Thanks for the feedback @kingmotan

No, you're not overreacting.

As you know, my wife and I have a small gallery, and we also have signs up that say "This is a camera phone free zone!" Along with some text about copyright law (because some people respond better to a logical than an emotional appeal.).

A lot of people ignore it; a lot of people simply don't read signs... and some people are outright insulted that they (it seems) "don't get to do whatever they want." The other day, a young man even wanted to argue with me and "convince" me that I was just old and needed to get into modern times. On another occasion, I had an older "gentleman" assure me (when I mentioned that artists depend on sales of their work for a living) that "real" artists work for the love of art, not for money. I was pretty gobsmacked after that one...

It's an insult to our artists, to the gallery, it's stealing and just in poor taste. I don't really CARE whether we live in times where it's de-rigeur to record every step of your life photos you post on instagram... but I'm sorry, you can be DIS-connected for the 5 minutes you're in my store.

I am not sure... but it seems we live in the "Age of Entitlement" where everyone feels like everything they see is not only free, but for public consumption.

I must admit, when this incident happened the other day, you did come into my mind and I wondered of you had experienced anything similar.

I had not thought about it bit I think you may have hit the nail of the head - in that we might be living in an age of entitlement. If that is true then I am not sure what the answer is just yet but I certainly do not agree with it.

A friend of mine is staying with me at the moment and his son is doing a degree in philosophy - according to him I have no right to "own" my work. Apparently it is the "action" of making the work that defines who I am, not the work itself. So I am "entitled" to be paid for the action but not the work itself otherwise I am being paid twice. Thus once the work is made it belongs to everyone.
Hmm, funny how those who create nothing believe they have the right to own everything for free.
Times are changing it seems and I am not sure of where we are going but the consequences could be dramatic.
Thanks for the support @denkarkguy. your insights are always invaluable.

I do try to keep up with world trends... and one of the meta-trends we seem to be in the middle of is that more and more of the younger people coming up define their existence purely through experiences rather than objects or people. "Permanent" relationships are on the way out as is-- it seems-- the idea of "owning" things. On the way IN is a life that can exist completely out of a backpack or suitcase... "work" is any place you can set up your laptop and have a wifi connection.... having this discussion with our daughter (25), some weeks back.

When we put up the signs in the gallery her words were "Yeah, I sort of understand what you mean, but most people my age will find that pretty douchy."

I asked her what the point of taking photos of everything was, and whether she ever looked at them again. Her impression (and she's a pretty smart cookie) is that the photos are not for copying, or printing... they are a "collection" of "been theres" and "did thats." Like people of old might collect post cards or something... you build and have a collection, but most collectors seldom actually LOOK at their collection.

It was, at least, a SMALL insight.

Very interesting to hear that point of view from your daughter- it does help to explain things. I have a daughter that age too I will ask her opinion. I am not sure how this generation will deal with all this though when they are older. I mean it is as though they believe they will be young forever. They may be in for a shock.

I'm not sure if I by the argument that taking a photo is theft. It's sort of a really bad copy, but nothing has been stolen per say, merely replicated.

However, I think it's okay to ban cell phones and photos from being taken. It can really ruin the experience of fine art for other people. To me it feels like texting during a movie. Rude!

There are lockers specifically for phones. Perhaps you could make it mandatory for people to put their phones in there, much like how people require others to take their shoes off when entering their home. They even make these lockers with chargers so everyone wins!

Best of luck.

Cheers man, I like your thinking. I am working on a few ideas for a solution and the replies I have had have been very helpful - far better than I expected. Actually most of the time people are respectful, I think I was just a bit unlucky today. They were not nice folk at all.

That's terrible. I'm sorry! I hope you find a solution soon. Maybe you should just have a basket full of smashed phones with the sign that says these are the ones who disobeyed the no phone rule!

Ha ha I like that idea - I appreciate the sentiment and I really felt like doing that when it happened. Its difficult to find a balance between being strict and being friendly. I will think hard to find a solution and share it when I do. Thanks for the feedback @distantsignal

You are correct to not allow pictures to be taken. People need to learn how to enjoy an experience without having to take pictures!

Yes you are right - why cant they just look at the painting and take in the detail. What is photo gonna do to make the experience better?

Upvoted because people need to know this. I appreciate when artists make prints available (I frequently would love to have the work but can't afford the original) but it is very disrespectful to steal an artist's work in any way, and photographing it is stealing!

That being said, a wonderful idea for some gallery artists would be to allow supervised photography of limited pieces for a small fee. I say this because I love to use my camera, and a photograph of a work of art is a unique work of art itself, so if I could pay to produce art from your art I would love that.

Thank you- that is a really good idea - (a photograph fee) that is one I have not heard before - really good suggestion and this is what I hoped you happen, that people could make some suggestions as how to deal with this. really appreciate that, - I will definitely consider this idea - Cheers

I agree...
I grew up in artist communities, and there are a few way we handled this in galleries. In high end galleries, we had security who could watch for cameras, and people would be arrested, and fined for taking photos. But, there was a photography booth set up where one could request a photo shoot on specific pieces.

In smaller privately owned galleries, we would have cards with the artists info on them, and if someone wanted to take a photo, we would give them a card (like the post cards with an image on the front) which listed the requirements under copyright for any posting, articles or general use of the photos they took. This always included giving the artist full credit for their work, and contact info for the artist, and now would include the artists website.

Because art lovers come in all classes, we would do prints, postcards...but the best sellers are always books. You can upload photos of your art to sites like blurb.com (there are quite a few these days) securely, and actually design your own small book. They will print for you in small Qtys, and ship them to you. This allows people to purchase at an affordable price, and promotes you as most people love to show others these books.

Being in retail for over 30 years, what I have found is that people will purchase an art book for the price they would pay for a meal, without blinking...so two sizes are good. One with a few select images, your bio, and personal notes on the art included, for say 25.00. And another with a more extensive collection and more info, personal thoughts etc...for 50.00

Gallery issues aside, you will then get people like timeshiftarts and myself. I am a metalsmith, leather worker, beader etc...My current passion is learning pyrography on leather. I apprenticed for many years to learn the skills I have, but unfortunately drawing I have not learned well. I was able to take some basic art courses, but metalwork alone takes years to learn, so I had to choose where to invest my time.

Now, learning pyrography, I have found 2 artists who have graciously allowed me to hand burn their art, onto my journals. Each asks for a small fee per drawing, and full credit with links to their work, included in the description of my piece. I am very grateful to them, because I cannot draw people to save my life ;)

So...adding something, like , "If you would like to use my art in any other form, please contact me. Mass producing is Not allowed, Royalties will be required for items sold which include my art."
Or something along those lines. It leaves the door open to other artists to ask your permission, and scares off those who don't get it.

Hey man that was a fantastic reply and I highly appreciate the information. One of the best replies I have ever had- This information really helped -cheers - followed

You are very welcome :) I am glad it is helpful!

One last thing...don't be afraid to ask people to leave. You have it posted that photos are not allowed, and you own all copyrights to your work. Ask them once to put the camera away, if they don't, ask them to leave, and let them know that if they do not, you will involve the police. You would win if it ever went further.

I like the photography fee, with the addition that the fee can be applied as a credit if they buy a work.

Ah see ... now we're working as a community to build a sensible business model! Not to mention a tertiary income source for the original artist.

Absolutely! Creative work needs to be encouraged, and should be valued more highly.

Comedians have been struggling with the same problem as well. The ease in which someone can document something today diminishes the value of product that is dependent on in-person representation.

Great post.

Yes I have often thought about that with comedians. So easy to steal a joke - an of course how can you prove you wrote it.
I remember watching a documentary back on the 1970s about comedians and it featured Bernard Manning. There was a scene where a young comedian needed some new material and so he went to see Bernard Manning to "buy" a joke.
Bernard Manning answered as though he was telling a joke himself but he was deadly serious, he said "Do you want a cheap joke, a medium priced joke, or an expensive joke. The new comedian had to agree to which and pay before the joke before Bernard Manning told it.
Thanks for the support

You think its bad in art, you should see photography!!! For example I was on the early pay site called Tsu. I saw accounts that actually stole pics from sites that watermark the art/photos. IOW they put up pics that were CLEARLY watermarked and were earning off of them! Its totally ridiculous and people are just getting MORE rude!

Yes I can imagine it must be two times worse with photographs - with photoshop being able to alter images or retouch out watermarks etc -my sympathies my good man....the times we live in are getting worse and worse with regards to respect it seems

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60725.43
ETH 2900.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59