Alla prima: Felix, oil on paper (+VIDEO)

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Felix9x12.jpg

Dear Steemit family! This is my recent painting effort - portrait sketch of my friend Felix. It is done on Arches oil paper (and for me to paint on such surfaces is constant struggle) in approx. 3 hours.

Once again I was using palette of Titanium White, Yellow Brown, Transparent Oxide Red, Senellier Red, Raw Umber and Ivory Black which is actually a slightly pimped up version of Zorn's palette. I've made 3 minutes timelapse video of my process and you can clearly see the 3 principal stages of this particular approach:

  • drawing with a brush to establish composition and basic shape structure
  • filling biggest shapes with complexity colors - value and temperature relationships
  • refining and defining smaller forms

Hope you dig it!!

Sort:  

Truly amazing. wonderful highlights.

thank you! Much appreciated


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

wow this is so amazing dude! i really like you artwork. Keep going do art pieces!

@jeanstevenn Thank you! I will keep doing it!

Amazing oil portrait * ___ * The video is really cool ! I love how you create skin tone and definition whilst being able to keep the soft brush strokes style <3

Thank you so much @veryspider
Glad you liked it

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65935.31
ETH 3015.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75