Alla prima sketch of and eye (5x7") + video

in #art6 years ago (edited)

DSC08631.jpg

"Strokes carry a message whether you will it or not. The stroke is just like the artist at the time he makes it. All the certainties, all the uncertainties, all the bigness of his spirit and all the littlenesses are in it." - Robert Henri. "The Art Spirit"

Hello Steemit!

In this post I would like to share my proccess of alla prima oil painting sketch. I do a lot of small ones like this for the sake of practice - it is fast, you spend less paint and panels are tiny (and cheap, yay!) and it is good for portable studio setup which is my only choice for the last 6 monthes since I travel and carry all my stuff with me (traveling with oil painting gear and materials deserves a dedicated post).

But most important goal of such practice is that I learn how to use my brushes, each time I hone my skill mark by mark and direct painting forces me to make decisions. It also provides a lot of fun (SPOILER: unless you fail and wipe everything off, I know this feeling well ¯_(⊙︿⊙)_/¯)

Hope you like it!

MOAR STUFF: INSTAGRAM | WEBSITE

Sort:  
Loading...

You probably know about Richard Schmid. If not, you might like to get his book "Alla Prima." I think you will enjoy it.

Thank you for your comment! His book is one of my favorite sources of inspiration and information about oil painting, as well as his videos.

That is so great. Richard has been one of main role models for almost 50 years! LOL We met at a solo exhibition he had in Chicago at Welna Gallery in 1969. His work blew my mind. I was still in art school and it was at that exhibition that I decided that I wanted to paint as a career. We kept in touch once in a while over the years and met again a few times. He even gave me a critique at my own exhibition (we were represented by the same gallery at the time). He has inspired and helped all of my peers - and many others - at one time or another. He's a great man, a legend now. I feel lucky to have known him.

Beautiful work! oil is definitely my favorite, definitely giving you a follow! I posted a couple new paintings of mine, feel free to tell me what you think! xx

Congratulations @arthurgain! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

This is the best art i aver seen yet on Steemit

Thanks, you are way too kind :)

The emotions are sincere and nearly palpable.

This is a beautiful piece even if it is small one.

I also enjoy the fact you did a video of doing it. I find it is helpful for people to simply watch others work as they will likely gain some incite to how the art is preformed.

As well as watching another paint is like watching their very mind at work.

--xo @jjay

Thank you! I agree, despite painting is slow proccess it can be interesting to watch. Speeded up videos increase this "magic" feel when illusion of object builds up on blank canvas or paper

You are so talented! I could watch this video all day. Great idea to practice on smaller canvases. Amazing work.

Thank you! I am happy you liked it :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 61673.68
ETH 2904.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63