Art Explosion #67: Mystery Contest

in #art5 years ago

Hey everyone! This is my submission for @juliakponsford 's Art Explosion Mystery Contest.

For this theme I decided to represent a great internet mystery, Cicada 3301. While I highly doubt, Cicada 3301 ever had secret meetings in hooded robes, I sincerely hope they have. I mean, if you're going to have a secret society, how could you not?

sketch1562175099932.png

This video gives a good overview of the Cicada puzzle:


While the puzzle started with a simple image posted on 4chan, the interest to complete the puzzle spread so quickly across the world. This sort of spontaneous collaboration is really fascinating. Puzzle-solvers had no concrete reason to solve the puzzle, there was no promise of monetary gain, membership to a secret society, or any prize whatsoever.

Human's natural curiosity is what brought this puzzle to life. I find that beautiful.

My initial sketch:
sketch1562176845045.png

Process gif:
20190703_091515.gif

"Epiphany seeks the devoted."

Previous Post | Instagram

Sort:  

Hey, I saw you left an up vote for me on my art, thanks yo!
So I stopped by your blog. Nice work!! Love the process shots as well.
Dropped an up vote and am going to start and follow you too.:D

Keep making great art!

Hey! Thanks for checking out my posts. I'll follow you back, I really like your art! :D

I love your Cicada 3301 creation. You have such a talent for this type of art @avina-celeste

Human's natural curiosity is what brought this puzzle to life. I find that beautiful.

So true! It's amazing the work humans will put in, on the basis of quelling curiosity alone.

Great job as usual Avina.

Thanks @futuremind :)

Congratulations @avina-celeste! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 10 replies. Your next target is to reach 50 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 65821.61
ETH 3008.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74