*Balfore's Builds* Templar Helmet

in #art6 years ago

Once again, I am taking a break from the other project and I am still working on The Shadowbot Helmet. You can catch the first part of that build here: https://steemit.com/art/@balfore/balfore-s-builds-shadowbot-helmet-part-1
I will try and get that one done pretty soon.

Here is a Templar Helmet that I happened to find a pattern for (The pattern was similar to this one, I just made a few changes):
41O-n-GdD2L._SX425_.jpg

Its a simple build, and apologies in advance for missing a few pics.

First, trace you pattern/template on to your EVA floormat. You can use straight pins to make sure the pattern doesn't move:
20180507_004034.jpg

Then cut out the pieces:
20180507_004054.jpg

Use 2 or 3mm Craft foam to make the cross plate, cut it out, and glue all the pieces together. Once together, it should look like this (no need to worry about the color of the foam, as you will see):
Templar Helmet 002.png

As you can see there are holes and 'rivets'. This was done by using a Dremmell bit.
I used the round sanding bit to make the rivets. By barely pressing the top of the bit into the foam.
I used the grinding bit to drill the actual breather holes on the front.
I think it looks pretty convincing, do you?

Next, I coated the entire helmet with a 50/50 mix of ModPodge and regualr acrylic paint you can get from Walmart.
Doing this basically seals the foam, and then you can spray it with gray primer, like this:
Templar Helmet 003.png

After that, I sprayed the entire thing with PlastiDip.

Then I taped off the parts I wanted protect, and sprayed it all with silver paint, then peeled off the tape:
20180701_135546.jpg
20180701_135907.jpg

Then, I taped off the rest, in order to get the cross piece on the face:
20180701_143947.jpg

Then, I painted the cross piece with gold spray paint:
20180701_153754.jpg

And here you go! A pretty cool, and simple build.
Templar Helmet 004.png

Templar Helmet 005.png

Templar Helmet 006.png

Templar Helmet 007.png

Templar Helmet 008.png

And here's the finished product. Not too bad, eh?
Templar Helmet 001.png

Let me know what you think!

Sort:  

this is a great costume piece, I started my metal sculpting career by aprenticing under someone that would make this type of armor out of real metal. We worked in a dirty basement with no power tools and made amazing art pieces.

Many thanks!
I bet it takes patience to learn metal craft/armoring

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69995.16
ETH 3735.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74