Shaping an essence of being

in #art6 years ago

zonder spelmeester 3.png

I really enjoyed making this painting, at the same time she was incredibly difficult. I wanted to put too much story into it. The game was explained and there was also a game master present. It can be a daunting challenge to move from the imagination to what the work itself needs.

You may recognize the two ladies. I have shown them before in full regalia. They were rather smaller in the painting and therefore lost a lot of detail. They are a bit bigger now thanks to the wonders of digital painting.

Sort:  

Ik vind deze echt heel gaaf.. supermooi gemaakt! Mag je trots op zijn :)

Dank je wel, ik ben inderdaad wel een beetje trots :)

I love the feel of this one!

thank you so much!

I definitely recognize the blue lady. It's cool how you used previous art in this new piece.

Thank you! It is the other way around, I designed her for this artpiece. I knew it would take a long time before this one was ready so I already showed her on Steemit. At first she was a lot smaller in this piece and I lost so much detail that I felled sorry not to show her in all detail.

So if I understand correctly, you create all the pieces before creating the canvas to put them on? In a way that makes sense; it beats having to zoom in on a specific area to work on single pixels like I sometimes do to remove things from photographs.

It depends on the work. In this case the work already excisted in my head (it always changes a lot while making it). But some parts were still foggy and I knew it would take a lot of work to make them clear. I started them on the canvas and indeed was working on the level of pixels (If you see the green lady, her skin needed a lot of detailing). So I made both the ladies in a different file. It gave me the space to explore their characteristics. At that point parts of the blocks and the sky already excisted.

I am thankfull I did because the original file became so big it did interrupt the brush strokes now and then. It would have been even harder to explore them with the concetration they deserved.

I like the other pieces you have shown, and I like this one. I think they have turned out pretty well!

Thank you very much. That means a lot :)

You're welcome!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60719.63
ETH 2911.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59