Sketching an image can heal your stressful mind !

in #art6 years ago (edited)

A year ago I was seriously drowning into the deepest depression of my life, and my mind wouldn't just stop thinking about it..!! I was becoming physically ill and everything seemed meaningless to me. So one day I just forced my mind to do something without any expectation and sketching was the choice, as I used to enjoy doing it for free in my childhood..hahaha! But this time I was holding the pencil after a decade-long gap ! when I was around 7 or 8 years of age, I used to draw conceptual sci-fi stuff. I will bring back those concepts alive in another post but now I wanna tell you how drawing & sketching helped me to deal with my stress and frustration.

The gateway.jpg


This happened like a year ago. One fine morning I got my tools and a drawing book and without even giving a second thought I started drawing. After a while, I realized a certain calmness within me and my mind took up the challenge to focus all its attention to it. I was just drawing without any break and in a few hours it was all done. I was just amazed to see my sketch complete without even wasting a single page ! There was a sense of satisfaction and the art itself became an appreciation for my effort and the level of my stress decreased ( during that time). So later on, I thought to myself, what happened during those moments that got rid of my stressful state !! I realized that while I was sketching, my mind had to detach itself from the memories to focus on the present moment, which was the moment of the sketching. The simple act of detachment from disturbing memory created a blissful state within me automatically and I was feeling happy. It also helped me to realize why humans created rituals !! It's like a tool to deal with the racing mind BUT you can't borrow these tools from another person. After this experience, I started drawing and sketching for quite some time and it gave me joy and happiness. It works like a tonic !!!


Spirit.jpg


So I hope those who are drowning in the stressful state might give it a try even if you have never drawn a single image. You need to consider it as an expression of the soul. The spirit desires an act of participation, not just theorizing things in the mind. It doesn't need to be perfect. YOU JUST DO IT…..and it will heal by itself.


Free Bird.jpg


Lost image.jpg


eyes wide open.jpg


Sonic Boom.jpg


Try again.jpg


If it also worked for you then let me know in the comment. I would be happy to hear your story….Ommmm Shanti


copyright-text.png

Sort:  

This post, with over $50.00 in bidbot payouts, has received votes from the following:

appreciator payout in the amount of $13 STU, $27 USD.
smartsteem payout in the amount of $22 STU, $46 USD.
promobot payout in the amount of $16 STU, $33 USD.
buildawhale payout in the amount of $12 STU, $25 USD.
upme payout in the amount of $8 STU, $16 USD.
rocky1 payout in the amount of $8 STU, $16 USD.
therising payout in the amount of $6 STU, $12 USD.
jerrybanfield payout in the amount of $5 STU, $10 USD.
boomerang payout in the amount of $4 STU, $8 USD.
upboater payout in the amount of $2 STU, $5 USD.
upyou payout in the amount of $2 STU, $5 USD.
thebot payout in the amount of $2 STU, $4 USD.
foxyd payout in the amount of $2 STU, $4 USD.
pushup payout in the amount of $2 STU, $4 USD.
steemvote payout in the amount of $1 STU, $1 USD.
inciter payout in the amount of $1 STU, $1 USD.

For a total calculated bidbot upvote value of $104 STU, $217 USD before curation, with approx. $26 USD curation being earned by the bidbots.

This information is being presented in the interest of transparency on our platform @baulspirit and is by no means a judgement of your work.

Lovely drawings you sure got the talent. Can't rember the last time I took a pencil to draw but after reading your story I think am quite motivated. Thanks for sharing
Awesome post

Thanks brother..... you should give it a try. even just doodling can relax your mind. I am quite interested to see how it turns out for you :) have fun bro !

very encouraging post.we all have those moments,where we feel low,helpless.....some kind of mind blockings.ant at that point,nothing but expressing/sharing our shelf can be the first step of healing..and here comes the ART. art is nothing but n expression.so i completely agreed with the healing part. your sketches gave me a spiritual vibe.thumbs up

thanks a lot for your inspiration, ... I know you are very good artist !! I am waiting to see your work :)

You're right. I draw too and it's amazing how it can heal both mind and heart.

Its like meditation...in fact it is one form of meditation..!!

Really beautiful work of art @bailspirit!

I can see that you love art and like to draw ;)
... so I am inviting you to the Minimalist Drawing Contest -- A contest dedicated to minimalist art!

https://steemit.com/minicontest/@gulugu/welcome-to-the-first-minimalist-drawing-contest

I'd love to see your entry!

thanks gulugu for inviting me.. I have followed you so that I can get update in my feed. I will try to participate in next round or later. I wish u all the best.

thanks brother...I appreciate that :)

By the way, your drawings are wonderful!

thank you dear..!!

Congratulations @baulspirit! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61641.91
ETH 2997.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.45