Back to pouring

in #art5 years ago

Adobe_Post_20190718_161227.png

Back to pouring yesterday.

I blame my sore finger. I'm actually wondering if there's a thimble like device for wire wrapping or maybe a thimble would do the job because it's pretty intense on the hands.

Not that you notice it much while in the middle of creating but afterwards....

I also realised I needed a couple more tools to make my wire wrapping life easier like a bail maker and better, finer pliers.

In terms of my mail out, I think I've wrapped enough and I'm now seeing if I can make some art work to go with the parcels in time for this Saturday's trip to the post office.

There's about 5 parcels I want to send out and I'd like to get them all on their way this weekend so they're not weighing on my mind and taking up precious shelf space ☺️

So for the last couple of days I've been trying to finish up some paintings by spraying them with clear varnish. The first ones I sprayed were the small 10x10cm canvases.

Here they are with their second coat of gloss.

20190718_161613.jpg

Then I sprayed the round canvases. This is how they look after one coat. Don't know if you can see the bumps on the bottom one. That definitely says it's due for a 2nd coat, which it got yesterday.

20190718_161642.jpg

Here are the pieces I varnished yesterday.

They get sprayed then covered so they don't get dust and what not sticking to them while they're drying.

20190718_161834.jpg

While that was curing I thought why not get a little bit ambitious and do a whole heap using some new colours.

20190718_162057.jpg

The plan was to do 2 sets of triptychs ~ which is pretty much an art work spread over 3 panels and one 30x30cm canvas.

That didn't really go according to plan...

One

Unplanned, my usual 10x10cm warm up piece. Kinda an essential part of my pouring routine these days.

How this canvas turns out always determines if I'll be having a good pouring day or not and to be honest it was a bit touch and go with this one as you can see below.

The initial pour and result was, to be blunt, disgusting and was scraped off ~ so were the 2nd and 3rd pour. Until finally I ditched the red and ended up with the image at the bottom.

20190718_155612.jpg

Still not my best, lacking the cells I've come to love, but it's interesting enough to keep.

Two

Another small piece, this is a recycled coaster turned into a canvas.

After the dismal failure of the first canvas I didn't think it would be wise to try the triptych idea so I separated this from the other two.

Again, this didn't give me the result I wanted first go although the first pour and the result wasn't bad, sure it's very white but I did like the foggy quality about it, but not enough lol.

20190718_155710.jpg

One scrape later I got the image I was more after. A lot of teal and blue but I also got cells.

Three

What was meant to be a triptych turned into a dyptich (art work on 2 panels).

Third time lucky, this took one go, no scrapes.

AND I used my dodgy blow torch ~ which is a total fire hazard and should/will never use ever again.

20190718_151115.jpg

See the teeny tiny cells? That's from the blow torch.

Four

Another first go wonder this time I skipped the blow torch and just used the hair dryer.

20190718_160014.jpg

Nothing spectacular but not disgusting either. I decided to keep it because I thought it'd make a great background for a mandala.

Five

The last piece of the day, this took a couple of goes before I got the image below.

I found my nerve again with this one and used the blow torch (see the teeny cells again?)

20190718_155929.jpg

I think over all, considering everything, I need to really stop using the blow torch lol The effect it gives the painting just isnt worth burning my house down over.

Here's a photo of the last two paintings from yesterday.

20190718_154709.jpg

And a group shot of the gang.

20190718_162803.jpg

Gotta say, I'm loving the colours. Sure I gave up on the deep red but I think it was worth it. Yesterday's paintings are giving me a unicorn poop vibe 😍💩🦄

What do you think?


bearone.png

MEMBEROFS.png

Team Australia Steem Philippines Steem Silver Gold Qurator Natural Medicine Snbox Alpha

Sort:  

Woah amazing! I so love the combination of the pastel colors.

Thanks Sheila!

Posted using Partiko Android

Hello @bearone, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Ohh wow!! Thanks so much for stopping by!

Posted using Partiko Android

I love them @bearone. Sometimes the colors like these work the best. I still don't get 'great' cells. I'm still learning though. A LOT of trial and error. I think I'll put my last session up and get some suggestions.

Thank you xxx I've been at this on and off since last year. I found the 1:1:1 acrylic:water:floetrol works best for me. I don't use silicone anymore :) Good luck!!

I'll have to try that mix. I have tried 3:1 floetrol & water or glue & water. I did try a 3:2:1 of glue, floetrol and water. Not completely happy with anything. I like the work without the silicone the best. I don't get the results like some others do. I actually end up with blank spaces on my canvas.

Another awesome colors !!!! These are so beautiful ms @bearone !
Are you selling those paintings?

Aww thank you! I will probably sell some of them on my etsy page. At the moment I'm working on my gallery at home ☺️

Posted using Partiko Android

@bearone,

Okay that's cool!!

My son and I are both ooh and ahhh at these lol. He hadn't seen them yet, or I don't think so anyway. I appreciate your up-vote my friend... Have I mentioned you created a monster? :) That post was part of my #thoughtfuldailypost initiative I started recently... @victoriaxl is a member of the @steemterminal, and we have been friends for some time. She was really trying to get this post out... but dealing with power outages and internet issues, she just wasn't able to get this post out...

I decided that I would offer to post it, as part of my #tdp initiative, and send all rewards that were made. That's what true engagement is supposed to be right? What I think anyway...

These paintings!!

We still have and cherish our pendants, but I have to say... this is on a awesome level here!! I think of the five.. # 5 is my fave for sure... I hope you are doing okay, and hope you know I haven't forgot about you! Much love to the whole family... need to keep my eye on your page more... these are awesome-sauce!!

Hahah I see I've created a monster ;) Glad you're enjoying the blockchain.

I chucked you on my autovote a few months back so was surprised to see I didnt already upvote your post 🤔 Might have to check and see if everything's still working.

I cant talk much about engagement.... 🤦🏻‍♀️🤦🏻‍♀️ Been in my own world lately and not really engaging much anywhere lol but I will eventually get back in the swing of things. I'm glad you're right into it though!

Thanks for the love mate xx

Posted using Partiko Android

Looks like you had another good day, those came out really good :)

Thanks hun! I think The Force was with me yesterday ;)

Posted using Partiko Android

creativity at its best!

Thank you!

Posted using Partiko Android

This one is my favorite :)

Hi @bearone!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.655 which ranks you at #1754 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 132 contributions, your post is ranked at #47.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Hi, @bearone!

You just got a 0.05% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62799.08
ETH 3027.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95