Dutch Pour

in #art5 years ago

Adobe_Post_20190711_185400.png

I really need to start doing these pours earlier in the day so I'm not stuck working with the lamp. I suppose I get on to it late to curb my impatience and boredom while I wait for Hubby to get home.

This has been me the last couple of nights.

20190711_185906.jpg

Last night I thought I'd try my hand at a swipe pour.

This is where you pour paint on the canvas, pick a side to pour a heap of paint on (I went with white), then you take a paper towel or a paint scraper or plastic and drag that from one side to the other side. The result should be a streak with cells...

This didn't really work out for me. It seldom does.

Dutch pour to the rescue

So I went back to YouTube to get more ideas and found out about dutch pours via this lady.

I loved the idea of letting the hair dryer do the work and just had to give it another go tonight after my swipe efforts didn't work out.

I started off with this..

20190711_170450.jpg

Figured start with a small canvas to test my primary colour pour using the swipe method. I imagined the red, blue and yellow swiping together to create colours.

20190711_184654.jpg

And nope.... It kinda worked and it kinda didn't. Basically I wasn't happy so I scraped the paint off and started again.

This time I went dutch and got the hair dryer out. I also ditched the primary colours and used my pre mixed bottles from yesterday.

Taaadaaa!!!

20190711_184754.jpg

Loving the colours on this one fo sure!

With one win under my belt I thought it's time to tackle the bigger canvas.

And.... nope..

20190711_184916.jpg

I did the dutch but didn't like how it turned out so I swiped to see if it could be saved with a swipe. Surprise, surprise it couldn't although it did look promising for a bit there, so I scraped the canvas and started again.

20190711_185126.jpg

I like this one a lot better. It's got a lot more colour. Although when I compare it with the first pour/swipe I'm liking the negative space so might have to try doing a pour with more negative space.

But hey, check it!!!

20190711_201949.jpg

Loving the colours and so far it's drying without cracks!! I think I have a win over here!!

PicsArt_072309.48.38.png

Sort:  

Hi, @bearone!

You just got a 0.04% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Hi @bearone!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.655 which ranks you at #1750 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 200 places in the last three days (old rank 1550).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 152 contributions, your post is ranked at #47.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

They all looked all right to me 🤣 I feel very ignorant right now 😆 I think you need more lamps.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66407.27
ETH 3219.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34