Pour #11 : Finally! Cells!

in #art6 years ago (edited)

image

After all the fails, I finally caved and turned to my pouring group for advice and they told me my mix was too thick and needed more water.

So off I went to try and give this another go but this time around I decided to pour over transparent film, since it's plastic and I can wash the paint off and reuse ~ I'm going to need many goes to get the consistency correct and so don't want to waste anymore boards.

image

Under the film is an mdf board covered with foil. And under the mdf are bottle caps to elevate the board off the tray. With my usual reusable silicone cups which are awesome for pouring btw since you can pinch it to create a spout.

image

The Details

Canvas: Clear film
Medium: PVA and distilled water
Medium Ratio: 1 : 1 + extra depending on paint
Additives: Coconut Hair Serum
Materials: Liquitex Basics Acrylic
Style: Direct pour

I did a couple of pours as I wanted to take it slow with the water. When I made my mix, to me, it seemed watered down enough but apparently all PVA glues are not made equally so the 1:1 doesn't always work for everyone. And that includes the whole " the mix should pour like warm honey.". Mine did that but still I needed more water.

And they were spot on. Here's my first round of dilution.

I made my mix as per usual and gradually added more water to each colour as I went. I also added an extra drop of oil serum.

image

Cells began popping up almost immediately, but the problem is even after stretching the paint out by shifting the canvas I still couldn't get more cells.

So even though it's already an improvement I wanted to try again, diluting the mix one more time.

Here you'll see the two experiments side by side on the film and already there's more cells in this mix especially after I stretch the paint out.

image

YAS 👑!

I could not bloody believe it. I felt like crying.

It's still not perfect but at least I have some bearing and kinda know what I need to work on.

Floetrol is still right up my wish list as apparently one can get cells from a Floetrol mix without additives, and you want that because some additives are a nightmare to clean off (like silicone for example).

On the plus side, even though I keep failing on the painting front, this coconut hair serum is doing wonders for my hair so I suppose I can't complain too much ;)

I do have videos I wanted to include but I can't figure out how to upload them and they weren't that exciting anyway so I skipped them. One day though, when I get better at this I'll do a live pour so you guys can see why I'm so addicted to pouring.

Do you have a creative outlet? Which is it? I'd love to see what you guys do so pop pics in the comments!

Happy Sunday Steemit! I hope you all had a great weekend!

❤ Arly

Sort:  

maganda kaya mommy... pero I know you have that desire to make it more precise as what you are wishing for.. you can do it!!!!

Salamat sa support Jez ❤🤗

I always want to do pour painting and yes, creating cells is one of the most satisfying moment here and is also the hardest to achieve ! Congrats on your cells . Hope to see more <3

Thank you! It was hard earned let me tell ya, but youre right, it's oh so satisfying. Crossing my fingers for more 😉😊

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Have you tried adding heat to bring out the cells at all? (Such as a hair dryer?)

I'm hoping to start pouring in a couple of weeks once school holidays are over :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64534.17
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01