Pours #6 & #7 : Moving from resin to pva pouring medium.

in #art6 years ago (edited)

PicsArt_07-05-03.55.12.png

It's been painting mania over here for a couple of weeks now and the experiments continue.

Pour #6

Resin + Oil paint + Mold

Following pour 5's disaster I decided to try pouring into a mold again but this time using oil based paint.

PicsArt_07-05-03.18.14.png

I wasn't sure what was going to happen or if the paint would mix in with the resin being oil based, but to my surprise it blended in beautifully. Better than my Liquitex acrylics which has been causing me grief.

After the previous pour I was very pleased to see the colours holding and not mixing. And although I am getting some interesting effects, the cells still elude me.

PicsArt_07-05-03.19.24.png

And as usual, I poured in 1 time too many as you can see by the yellow blob.

20180703_001807.jpg

Overall I'm very happy with how the paint and resin worked together. The colours were solid for a change and I truly believe if it wasn't in a mold I could have gotten better effects.

Pour #7

PVA + Distilled water + Acrylic + MDF board

My ever supportive and gorgeous Hubby took me to Bunnings on Sunday to get supplies. I was super excited, even though my local Bunnings didn't have Floetrol (what pourers rave about) OR a craft section, they still had pva glue, plaster of paris and mdf boards.

Granted they couldn't cut it to size for me but it was still better than nothing. Yeh sure our cut of the board is a tad bit shifty, but I need to keep in mind these are test pieces and the boards don't need to be perfect.

20180705_164253.jpg

I decided to use acrylics with a touch of glitter for the paint mixes and stupidly stuffed up my pva medium mix by adding white paint in. (Thats why my colours are washed out!)

PicsArt_07-05-03.22.03.png

Once again I'm doing the direct pour method, hoping it will create nice rings that may resemble a geode.

PicsArt_07-05-03.23.06.png

And nope. No geode looking things here.

20180701_144528.jpg

But if you look closely..

20180705_165313.jpg

I got cells!! They're minute but at least finally, after 7 pours I got them.

I actually didn't see them until I was editing pictures today and all week I've been so down on myself about my cell failure because I haven't been able to get them.

I poured 4 more fails before I finally came out and asked my pouring group for help. They knew exactly where I was going wrong and after a few tweaks to my pouring medium mix, I got cells like how I see it on YouTube.

Lots of trial and error going on here. It's all fun and games when you're winning but after consecutive fails the old self esteem starts feeling a bit down so I'm glad I'm finally getting results.

Well that's all for me today. Are you doing anything artsy and creative at the moment? Share your creation in the comments!

Happy Thursday Steemit!

❤ Arly

Sort:  

wow! nice work ...

galing galing mo talaga mommy.. yung kulay ng isa parang color combination ng steemph logo..

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64231.88
ETH 3128.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95