Resin Painting : Pour #5 : Fail

in #art6 years ago (edited)

PicsArt_07-03-12.27.48.jpg

Saturday morning Hubby turned to me and asked if I wanted to go to Bunnings. I did want to go and find supplies I need, maybe get a big piece of mdf so I can save on canvasses. But I decided to try something out first.

I had been having issues with the resin peeling off the canvas as you can see below.

PicsArt_07-03-12.41.17.png

The image on the left is what it's meant to look like once dried. The image on the right is definitely not how it's meant to look.

I figured maybe if I used a mold and painted straight into the mold it'll work out better. I wont need a canvas and I wont have that problem with the resin peeling off.

Mediums and Method

Another change I decided to make is to skip acrylic and use mica pigment for the colour. I use this mica a lot in my orgonites and it's always held it's colour well.

20180703_001130.jpg

I decided to keep it simple and do a direct pour, pouring each colour in on top of the other, creating rings.

20180703_001256.jpg

Once my last pour was in it was time to wait and see what happens. I kept waiting for it to set but it kept reacting and mixing in.

In an attempt to save what pattern I had, and hoping it will create interesting effects, I added drops of baby oil in the center.

This is what happened...

PicsArt_07-03-12.35.15.png

It was going great. I was excited. Then it all stopped and set into this unremarkable slop.

20180703_001512.jpg

Ohh well. It was worth a shot.

My mistakes

  1. Not enough catalyst.
    Perhaps if I had enough catalyst it would have set while I still had the rings out. As it is, I had to chuck it in the freezer over night and tapped it out and it's still tacky. Definitely not enough catalyst.

  2. My mica needed binding.
    The way they mixed in to one colour in the end gives me the impression that I needed to mix the mica with pouring medium or even just water.

This is the second last pour I've done with resin.

On Sunday I switched to straight acrylic.... More on this tomorrow...

It's been a trying few days art wise and I'm hoping today's the day I conquer this.

Hope you're all having a great Wednesday!

❤ Arlt

Sort:  

mistake ba to mommy.. it looks good!! pero tama ka din maybe that is because of the catalyst.. minsan kasi pag kumulang ka oh sumobra meron padin yung after effect... so far so good in terms of total appearance..

I think your art is great I am in the process of investigating my own art that is part of every artist. I loved your experiment

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64400.33
ETH 3140.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93