This week with PVA pouring medium

in #art6 years ago (edited)

FSwDzvb
It's all about the journey they say...

Well.. I reckon this week has been a rough ride for sure with one fail after another.

Ever since I decided to try PVA for my pouring medium every pour I've done this week turned out miserably.

But as usual, with every fail came the lesson and there were many.

Let's start with this one..

98802yz

Canvas: Old CD
Medium: PVA and distilled water
Medium Ratio: 1 : 1
Additives: Isopropyl alcohol
Materials: Liquitex Basics Acrylic
Style: Direct pour

Considering the last CD piece I did didn't need gesso (granted I used resin ~ but still..) I figured this one wouldn't either.

The pour started out well enough (it always does) until I began seeing little lumps of paint coming through.

My paint and medium was not mixed enough.

After a blast of the heat gun to see if cells would pop up (no cells popped up) the top started to wrinkle.

Too much glue + heat gun?

Up next

1YPLgYz

Canvas: Canvas board
Medium: PVA and distilled water
Medium Ratio: 1 : 1
Additives: OGX Coconut Milk anti-breakage serum
Materials: Black acrylic and Mica powder
Style: Direct pour

The lesson here is clearly knowing when to stop.

After the last pour I decided to use mica for my colours and just black acrylic to avoid the lumps. Which worked great until I tried to get fancy which turned into a scrape down and then into something gross.

Still no cells even with the new serum that everyone swears by.

Last

cpp65zB

Canvas: MDF board with gesso
Medium: PVA and distilled water
Medium Ratio: 1 : 1
Additives: OGX Coconut Milk anti-breakage serum
Materials: White & purple acrylic and Mica powder
Style: Dirty pour

As you can see from the picture I started out with one dirty pour with purple in it and I ended up scrapping the purple and changing it to white.

The lumps are from the purple acrylic 😢 I need to either find a way to mix it in better so I don't get anymore lumps or don't use it again. It's such a shame because it's a lovely shade of purple.

And still no cells. It looks like it's going to cell but it doesn't.


So that was me at the start of the week. By Thursday I caved and asked for help and immediately got results.

I took a short video so I might give Dtube or Dlive another go tomorrow so I can show you guys the tiny cells I got.

Until then.

Have a great Saturday Steemit!

❤ Arly

Sort:  

I picked up on this pouring acrylic art a few weeks ago... a little slow, I know lol. Anyhow, I'd definitely like to give it a bash sometime. Looks like fun.

I noticed with the pieces I saw that there were similar issues on many of those with regards to bubbles and splitting. I'll have to do my research well before I attempt it :)

Good luck with yours Arly.

Cheers
Therneau

Oooo!!!! I'm slow too, don't worry. Seems this is an old thing and we are just catching on :)

It's so much fun and so therapeutic.

My only advice is to try Floetrol first. Everyone swears by it and apparently you can get cells without additives.

Thanks mate! It's good to see you!

Cool, thanks for the heads up :) I'll check it out.

Yeah, sorry if I've been a little quiet. Been kinda busy so primarily looked at teamsa posts to support so haven't really been following my feed. Busy working on my system so you'll see me around more :)

Cheers

Enjoying the process is the most thrilling event. failure and true success are part of the most important process of what will be done afterwards.
I keep watching your activity and I'm happy to do it with you. keep cheerful process and greeting friendship

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63688.35
ETH 3125.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97