BEASTLY TALES - PIECE DE RESISTANCE

in #art5 years ago

Welcome to Beastly Tales. Each has a message, a moral. All are meant to have an element of humour. Naturally, any names included do not depict real folk but are included as part of the joke.

All rights reserved.
(As with Beastly Banter Beastly Tales is written and illustrated by Richard Hersel.)

Thank you for your following.
Richard Hersel


BEASTLY TALES

PIECE DE RESISTANCE

Searching both far and wide,
Finding, at last, his formaldehyde.
A jerrycan of this preservative solution,
Disinfectant too, to get rid of pollution.
Said he, “I want to preserve my figure.”
Those about, all began to snigger.
Yes, they did hold back a suppressed laugh,
For he had a figure like a giraffe.
Such long legs, and long, stretched neck,
“I don’t want to get fat, but what the heck!”
“I think that, if I bathe in formaldehyde,”
“My legs will remain lithe, I’ll have a long stride.”
“And, should I inadvertently pass away,”
“I’ll be pickled in preservative, that very day!

Formaldehyde, an embalming ingredient,
Used in days of yore, a preserving expedient!
Preserving the peace, a noble objective!
Preserving a piece of me, no need for invective!
Piecemeal, piece by piece, a worthy goal.
A distinctive part of a composite whole.
A “Piece De Resistance” a most important item,
Make a point of it, stoutly, ready to fight ‘em.

Now, living in a preservation society,
The drinking of hard liquor doesn’t lead to sobriety.
But raw alcohol does prevent decomposition,
Even if it doesn’t add to nutrition.

Now Horace Hodpodge didn’t, in a grave, want to hide.
So he went out to procure more formaldehyde.
“When I do pass from this “mortal coil,”
“I’ll want you, in formaldehyde, my body to boil.”
“Then, in a large jar, you can place me,”
“On exhibition, for all the world to see!”

piece de resistance.png

Sort:  

@beastlybantee my good old friend, nice to see your posts once more.

But raw alcohol does prevent decomposition,
Even if it doesn’t add to nutrition.

Very true

Congratulations @beastlybanter! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem blockchain survived its first virus plague!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Ooh creepy!😁

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60870.66
ETH 2917.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62