Memento Lowly, Memento Mori "The Conqueror Worm (A Tribute To Richard Scarry)

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Here is a painting I did for a recent group exhibition "Dark Art Show 2018" held at Beinart Gallery in Melbourne.

TheConquerorWormPreview.jpg

"The Conqueror Worm" (A Tribute to Richard Scarry) oil on board 2018

Obviously, the theme of the show was "Dark" but for some reason the idea to paint Lowly Worm hanging out with a baby skull among some apples was one of the first ideas that came to mind.
Why? Good question.

TheConquerorWormPreviewCloseup.jpg

A close up detail shot of Lowly

Richard Scarry's books have a special place in my childhood memories. The ones my siblings and I had were probably published in the 70's, but I know Scarry's books were first published in the early 60's. I have a vivid memory of these books involving detailed, busy scenes of anthropomorphic characters in various vehicles and situations going about their business. The one little character that we would always search for in these crowded scenes was Lowly Worm. Lowly was like the Where's Wally of these books.
So, I was a big fan. I hadn't really thought much about Lowly for years, until I started to develop my ideas for the Dark Art Show.
As I have done in my other work, I wanted to explore ideas around mortality and how death has such a taboo associated with it in western culture. My aim was to poke a bit of fun at the somber, serious attitudes towards death. The title of the painting is taken from the Edgar Allan Poe poem "The Conqueror Worm" which essentially tells us we're all going to be worm food one day. Here's the great Vincent Price reading The Conqueror Worm
The apples represent the brevity of life as they too will rot/ become worm food (plus it was Lowly's form of transport). The infant skull is an obvious symbol of mortality, it's also a symbol of childhood innocence, the death of the innocence and the nostalgia for childhood that people reflect on and sometimes yearn for. And Lowly is The Conqueror Worm. Yaaaay!

TheConquerorWormWIP8.jpg

Me putting some shine on them apples

Sort:  

Where to begin?

First of all, I adore the texturing on this. Then there's all the little light reflections (so much shine!). And, of course, the thematic contrast between a memento mori's usual themes and the worm, which becomes less of a contrast and more of a complement the more you think about it. I like the diamond composition and the contrast between the worm's head and the blank wall. Finally, I need to give you props for the attention to detail on the apples - not just the skin striations, but the little sugar spots are even included; did you work from a reference, I feel like I could almost guess the variety. Maybe fuji or honeycrisp.

Thank you for the thoughtful and kind words @see.feel.write :) The apples are Royal Gala, but they do look exactly like fuji and honeycrisp too.

I was so happy to come across this ode to Lowly on the gallery's post. I just love the feeling it gave me - memento mori with nostalgia AND lightness all mixed in together. Awesomeness.

Thank you @sue-stevenson :) Glad you like it.

Excellent work @beauwhiteart and welcome to Steemit..I look forward to seeing more.. following

Thanks @jonatftforest :)

in the top of the beauty

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61626.58
ETH 2940.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66