I Made a Steemit Logo - Using the Ancient Shou Sugi Ban - Japanese Wood Burning! Flaming Hot Steemit Sign Handmade Wood ArtsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Flaming Hot Steemit Logo!


Screen Shot 2017-07-05 at 5.12.14 PM.png

I joined Steemit about 2 weeks ago - so far I am loving the creativity of the community. I thought I would show my appreciation and get creative.

Wood working is one of my many passions. Lately I have been learning the art of Shou Sugi Ban. The ancient Japanese art of wood burning. I love the character that burning the wood achieves.

I decided to make a wooden sign to hang in my office. It will be my inspiration to stick with Steemit and make amazing content for my followers!

Brief History of Shou Sugi Ban

Shou Sugi Ban is an ancient technique practiced in Japan. The process is primarily used for exterior projects like house siding. The process of burning/ charing / cleaning / finishing preserves the wood!

So I am going to PRESERVE Steemit for centuries to come!


Burn the Wood



This is the most fun part. I get to use the big torch. I just wanted to consistently char the board. Just keep it moving and stop when the whole board is nice and toasty!

Wire Brush the Burnt Wood



I used a automatic wire brush tool. The idea is to remove the most charred wood on the top. Notice that the wood grain underneath is charred a darker color. The contrast is what I am after! I love the look that burning provides. The wire brush also adds a rigged texturing that is very cool.

Re-saw Wood to Thickness



The original thickness is a little bit too thick for my propose. I re-saw the board on a bandsaw. Now its the perfect thickness for my Steemit logo.

Chop Wood into 3 Pieces



I printed out the 3 "wave" shaped of the Steemit logo. Then I glued them the the back of the burnt wood - and chopped the piece of wood into 3 equal pieces.

Cutout Steemit Logo Pieces



Here I am slowly cutting out the pieces of the Steemit logo on a bandsaw.

Burn The Logo More



I wasn't 100% happy with the burn color. I used a smaller torch to burn the wood some more.

Wire Brush by Hand



Wire brush the excess charred wood from the top by hand. Now we are starting to get somewhere.

Glue Logo to Old Piece of Wood (Finished)



I found an old piece of wood that had some character. I glued the Steemit logo into place. I think it looks amazing! I will hang this in my office with pride.

IMG_0717.jpg

This project was soo much fun! It makes me even more inspired to participate in the Steemit community. I will be doing more posts like this one -- where I build things. Thus, Build It w/ Bek is born!

To see more Build It w/ Bek posts feel free to Upvote, Follow, Resteem, and Comment!

Sort:  

wow! thats a cool logo!

Thanks! Glad you like it!

This is dope man! Good job!

Thanks! Proud to hang this baby in my office! Hopefully its just the beginning of my steemit journey!

Hey thats amazing bek! :)

Thanks! It was fun to make! Lighting stuff on fire brings out my inner pyro ;)

Yeah I would probably have a lot of fun too! :)

Upvoted and followed you!

thanks I appreciate it!

It looks great! Nice skills. I wish I had a shed like that! :D

Thanks! Dad owns a second generation furniture restoration shop! We have a few workshops and a ton of tools!

Quality. I dont even have a saw

Thats really cool bro :D

Thanks!

Looks great 👍🏼

Yeah, really nice. Great work and thanks for showing this beautiful work. These types of skills are not being shared enough in my work. I admire the craftsmanship.

This is great. Really like this and I am sure my students would too- but I dont think i could do that in school haha

Haha that would be a tough sell to the principle.

Man, that is so awesome! I never knew that burning could be a "constructive" process... hahaha. It seems like it would weaken the board so it's interesting that you say it actually preserves it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69831.92
ETH 3744.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77