Greetings from Rainy Vancouver!

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Hi from Vancouver BC!

My name is Beng,  I'm an Australian screen printing artist living in Vancouver BC.   

I'm super excited to be a part of the steemit community, a friend and colleague recommended that I join up and get involved with you all here, as with most people interested or involved with cryptocurrency at this early stage I am pro-decentralization, I'm a morally responsible atheist (I know right!? Is that even possible!?) ..  I think I am a Xenial , that strange age bracket thats late to the Gen X party but too early for a Millenial, but that means I am tech savvy and can also swing an hammer/axe/skill saw/lawn mower.

I am a veteran VFX  artist of 15 years, now days working on Hollywood films more than anything, I am very recently a new Dad, my beautiful wife is a BEAST powering through a 56 hour labor with no pain meds whatsoever.. delivering our healthy 6.4lbs baby boy we named Mars, that was life changing and humbling and I will never complain about anything ever again for the rest of my life.  

I am a diehard creative person, our home is an art studio that we transform into a gallery space regularly and my wife and I host and curate group and solo exhibitions in our home, as I mentioned to begin with I am a print making artist and compared to my VFX career its a fairly new chapter in my life, I struggled for some time with creative satisfaction which may sound hard to believe because who wouldn't want to work on movies right? But in reality film projects have such massive teams and VFX artists get virtually no recognition and the parts you work on sometimes fade into the background of a finished film .. I needed a change or a new pursuit, so Print Making!! 

Print making is the perfect marriage of technical and analogue, I get to use my years of creative computer  training but also put the ink on paper with my hands allowing organic imperfections which I think all art work needs.  My art works focus on social commentary, political and religious opinions (my opinions) we live in a world saturated with information and social trends and climates change from week to week which is an incredible source of inspiration .. I was always fascinated by Banksy's ability to create the simplest image with a strong narrative so that's the challenge I set for myself with my artwork, simple imagery with a clear message.  In the coming months I'll be sharing a lot of my past and recent art work, and in the future all of my new stuff. Heres a glimpse of what to expect. 



insta
www.instagram.com/bengsart

I hope this is a satisfactory introduction, looking forward to meeting you and sharing more stuff in the future. 

Beng. 

Sort:  

Hi @bengsart! Welcome to steemit! Hope you'll like being here :)

Welcome to Steem, @bengsart!

I am a bot coded by the SteemPlus team to help you make the best of your experience on the Steem Blockchain!
SteemPlus is a Chrome, Opera and Firefox extension that adds tons of features on Steemit.
It helps you see the real value of your account, who mentionned you, the value of the votes received, a filtered and sorted feed and much more! All of this in a fast and secure way.
To see why 2818 Steemians use SteemPlus, install our extension, read the documentation or the latest release : SteemPlus 2.17 : Tips.

Hi, bengsart! I wish you a very wonderful journey here in this culturally diversified yet mostly unified community :) Have fun!

By the way, there are several groups you as a newcomer can join. They will stay with you for your journey, helping and mentoring along the way.

@greetersguild invite link https://discord.gg/AkzNSKx
@newbieresteemday invite link https://discord.gg/2ZcAxsU

Welcome @bengsart

I take this opportunity to invite you to join STEEMSCHOOLS is a business school in steemit, where you can learn:

  • Publish professionally
  • Generate more profits with your post
  • Earn money just by commenting

We have live classes on DISCORD every day.
JOIN UP https://discord.gg/Sf6YH6j

ALL LIVE CLASS.jpg

Welcome to steemit @bengsart. Join @minnowsupport project for more help. Checkout @helpie and @qurator projects.
Send SBD/STEEM to @treeplanter to plant trees and get an get an upvote in exchange of your donation (Min 0.01 SDB)
Upvote this comment to keep helping more new steemians
Send SBD/STEEM to @tuanis in exchange of an upvote and support this project, follow for random votes.

Congratulations @bengsart! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64455.55
ETH 3147.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94