Belly Dance Photoshoot

in #art4 years ago

734D38C4-D47D-45A7-AE17-EDDE5AAD44E9.jpeg
I love it when someone comes to me with a request that is not one my usual vintage or pin up style, and my belly dance teacher did just that. She was looking for some promotional images to advertise not only her classes, but also her belly dancing which she does for private events.
She rocked up at my door, with a huge hoard of costumes and props -much to my delight! The costumes all heavily beaded and just dazzling to look at. Some originating from a contact she has in Egypt.
During the shoot, Maria basically performed for me whilst I photographed her. This meant I was able to capture real, genuine expressive movement and facial expressions.
The movement and colours of the real silk fan veils were simply mesmerising. The way they floated on the air and rippled like waves. The longer the length of the veil the harder they are to control, and Maria with her years of experience, is of course a pro. She makes it look effortless.
I remember the first time we used fan veils in our belly dance class. It is the perfect workout for the arms, because you're having so much fun that you don't realise you're working out until your arms are about to give up! And oh the pain the next day! my arms were like Popeye's 💪🏻Who needs a gym when you have belly dancing?! Not only are the fan veils a great exercise tool, but the belly dance movements alone use muscles that usually get neglected. The way you have to isolate certain parts of your body, is not something that comes naturally to most, and certainly takes a lot of practice to perfect!
1C6EC8C5-51FC-4A0A-92B9-710ADFBD11FF.jpeg
Maria also brought along a Shamadan candelabra headpiece. With actual candles and actual fire! I'd never been so nervous, watching someone dance with fire on their head is not what I would call relaxing, but I most definitely couldn't take my eyes off her! 🙈😂
She later told me that she usually dances with the Shamadan on a table at a restaurant, with minimal ceiling height!
D6B3409D-AEC5-41B4-8631-FA4469B4698D.jpeg
In post processing I really wanted to create an even more atmospheric feel to the images, so I added a smokey textured overlay, and some subtle orange to blue fade, light tones. I also did some dodging and burning to really highlight Maria's muscle tone as well as the beading in the costumes.

I hope you like the images.
All images I use are my own.

This is my entry for @Qurator Photo Friday Competition

Sort:  

Your photography made this dance more attractive

This post has been appreciated and featured in daily quality content rewards. Keep up the good work.

Thank you 😊 🙏🏻

owwaaa what a lovely photography. Looks amazing

Great photo 🙂👍

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you 😊

Congratulations @bettynoir! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 250 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 500

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61209.23
ETH 2940.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73