Naga Warrior (prototype) - 3D printable file included.

in #art5 years ago

nagaw1.png

For those familiar with Steem Monsters the Naga Warrior is a relatively common site. Shes an aggressive melee fighter with a good amount of health even at low levels. I admit I don't play her often as I favor some of my other cards, but from a modeling stand point, even if I put in every minor detail (which I didn't) she would have been one of the easier characters.

nagaw2.png

Her shield and sword at the ready.

nagaw3.png

A hungry smile gracing her half human / half serpentine face.

3D View


About

Recently the discussion of having having 3D printable figurines for steem-monsters was brought up in various discord chats and through the cross traffic between those channels @ma1neEvent suggested that I find out what they were looking for. What I found is that the desire might be there, but the conviction is not. However, I do enjoy creating things and whats a few hours out of my life?


If you are a follower of mine you know that I have had experience in that field, and shared several posts about the process. Unfortunately I forgot to catalog everything that was done to create the renders and the final model beyond a few screenshots here and there.

Screenshot from 20181031 194048.png

Screenshot from 20181031 185039.png

Screenshot from 20181031 185047.png
From Blender

Screenshot from 20181101 153822.png
In Cura

IMG_20181101_231740.jpg

These were printed on a Lulz Bot Mini with the standard print head, in high speed mode, with no post processing. I would suggest if you want to print the naga warrior I would suggest you check her ears and the sword. The thinner the object the bigger the model has to be and her ears have been lost in this print. Also I tweaked the mouth and eyes to show better in the stl I've added to this post.

If you like it, let me know. If you have a character you want done drop a comment. If you're the artist of the naga warrior and you hate this, tell me what I need to fix and lets get it the way you want it. Regardless, thanks for reading.

Naga Warrior STL

IPFS: file download

Sort:  

This is really cool. Excellent job modelling a 2d image.

This is so cool!! I noticed you hadn't received an upvote from the @steemmonsters account, so I gave you one! :) Keep up the nice work! I love Naga especially, you picked one of my favorites!

Thanks! I was really hoping the post would have spawned requests for more, but I guess that is the nature of things.

I think it would be cool to see the Grumpy Dwarf. I've planned to get a 3d printer for some time now. Printing steemmonsters may be what finally pushes me over 🤣

I'll see what I can do. Thanks for suggesting it.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

I love how you used IPFS for this . I pinned this file to my personal node account. :) Keep it decentralized. Great work! We hope to include 3d Printed files for our services as well. Thanks for posting this, I had never even thought about it before, so never thought about adding backups to support them.

Thanks! And yeah I don't see why we don't use IPFS for most content we want to "share." Had I been thinking correctly I would have put the blend4web file on there as well. At some point I think I might spend a few cycles to make a thingaverse type site but one that accepts steem and uses ipfs for storage.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by HumbleBeaver from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Dear friend, you do not appear to be following @artzone. Follow @artzone and get added to our voting list for valuable up-votes!

Hi @bflanagin!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 2.861 which ranks you at #11643 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 247 places in the last three days (old rank 11890).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 257 contributions, your post is ranked at #57.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Only a few people are following you, try to convince more people with good work.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Realllyyyy nice work here, i love the sword like crazy... But why did you choose a half serpentine face?

If you look at the source picture the mouth and eyes are much larger and extend further back on the head than a human's. This could be stylistic, but the lack of human eyes and her little boop of a nose gave me the impression of a viper.

But I could change it rather trivially. I'm going to leave it up to the original artist to find my post and request it though.

Hi, @bflanagin!

You just got a 6.58% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63815.31
ETH 3124.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99