Remember me

in #art6 years ago

I saw him hang on the tree.

I watched him bleed from a corner.

I heard his silent groans as the nails pierced through flesh and hit wood.

The crazy implosion of pain as his joints gave way.

The tendons broke and the muscles tore.

I couldn't breathe, my lungs were filled with unshed tears.

As I walked past the cross, eyes away from him, holding back my sorrow until I got home.

He looked up and called out to me.

'Hello brother ' he said.

This pain is nothing compared to the love I have for you.

You would sin again. I know.

It is your nature, your human-scar.

But brother, when next it comes calling and you fall, even if you must;

Please remember today.

This curtain that parted for you.

This spine that broke for you.

Remember this Carpenter who by the same tools he worked with died for you.

re.jpeg

Sort:  

Congratulations @blaq22! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Comment

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66214.90
ETH 2997.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73