"Apples on the Shelf" - 12"x16" oil on panel - Showing stages of the "work in progress" and my art studio

in #art6 years ago

The first photo is the finished painting. It was painted mostly with a palette knife, but brushes were used occasionally. I signed it with a color shaper while the paint was still wet. It was painted on an archival Gessobord panel which many artist use. Photos of my work in progress are below as well as a photo of my art studio with the finished painting on my easel.

Apples on the Shelf 12x16p-cr.jpg

First stage: I toned the panel with a thinned coat of burnt umber and then roughly drew in the major shapes. I put a bit of color on each apple to better see the design and if it was going to work.

Apples on the Shelf WIP 2.JPG

Next Stage: I started painting a bit of the background as well as painting the focal point, the greenish apple.

Apples on the Shelf WIP 4.JPG

Next Stage:

Apples on the Shelf WIP 6.JPG

Next Stage: The major shapes were painted, but I left the highlights and minor details to the last stage.

Apples on the Shelf WIP 8.JPG

My art studio with "Apples on the Shelf" on my easel

Apples on the Shelf studio 1.JPG
Thanks for reading. -Bob

My Website

Sort:  

Nice painting, I also like your attelier x

Thank you so much. I spend lots of wonderful hours in this studio.

You are welcome, it's like a bubble in your own world? I have that too when I draw :)
X

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 66304.34
ETH 2983.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68